We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so nice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essence of India

Essence of India
Ranked #20 of 134 Restaurants in Harlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

After reading all the reviews on trip advisor I thought I would give this indian a go so I ordered a take away I has to be said this is the worst indian I have had in a long time the tikka masala was bright red colour the rice was all lumpy the jalfrazie had no taste what so ever the nan bread had like a plastic smell about it never again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 30Wayne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    9
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Confirmation of a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visited this restaurant yesterday after reading the excellent reviews on Trip advisor .
We weren't disappointed , the meal was terrific as was the service.
It won't be our first and last visit ,we'll definitely return next time we're in the area!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 200399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“"Excellent food - brilliant service"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family has been eating here for 5 years. Food is excellent. A dish has been recommended today and it was brilliant!!! brilliant!!! Staff are very friendly and helpful. We also have take away every week and they have been very consistent. Best in Harlow!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food - great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant a few times, and the food has always been great. There's a great choice on the menu, and the explanation of what's what is extremely useful. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and nothing is too much trouble. I've also had takeaways, and they have been just as good. I would definitely recommend the Essence of India.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Salsakimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went in on reccomendation of trip advisor at 7pm Sunday night, there was already a couple of tables in, which is a good sign. We opted for the hot buffet which had a choice of four main courses , pilau rice, samosas, a spinach dish, bombay potatoes and naan bread. Everything was absolutely delicious and piping hot. For £11 you could not go wrong. Staff were extremely friendly and attentive. By the time we left an hour later there was only one table left. Will go again if ever i am visiting the area again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence of India also viewed

 

Been to Essence of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing