We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“camra gbg, garden, family owned and run, keep it secret?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rainbow and Dove

The Rainbow and Dove
Ranked #7 of 134 Restaurants in Harlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a quaint traditionally English Country Pub and Restaurant. Set in the heart of a small community we offer a selection of cask conditioned real ales, ciders, premium lager and quality wines. We serve fresh, homemade food and specialise in fresh fish, game and serving our very own produce from our very own smallholding! As we are small we always recommend booking prior to your arrival - for weekends it's best to book up to a week in advance...
cardiff wales uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“camra gbg, garden, family owned and run, keep it secret?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I lived within 3 miles from 1955 to 2002. It has changed. But it remains a classic.
PLEASE SUPPORT THIS CLASSIC.
PLEASE BOOK IN ADVANCE TO EAT....FIRST CLASS 5* SERVICE
RELAXED INFORMAL AND REALLY REALLY NICE
ASK FOR THE HISTORY!!!
I WAS BORN IN ESSEX (cardiff/leyton), I am now Norwegian.
I am in UK to visit and I am homesick for Finnmark, but I shall miss
the rainbow and dove...AND I Shall be here again, next time I visit.
I am in Harlow FOR 5 nights....I visited the r+d 3 times

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaellddown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    53
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Night with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice small friendly place, service very good very friendly, very nice, food nice one or two portions very small, chicken, more bone than meat, no cheese on the cheese burger !
We all make mistakes.
Would have not been so good if we had not been with friends..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited again tonight and as always the staff are great and the food is lovely. The real ale selection is always good and we loved the Buntingford Brewery's Britannia Ale. The place has had a mini makeover and thankfully it is in keeping with the character and charm of the building. Visiting again next week :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tralsiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“GOOD PUB GRUB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have eaten here about 6 times never been disappointed my husband had the steak and ale pie with vegetables which were cooked perfect the pie is very large I had the cod loin and chips excellent and the chips are proper homemade chips NOT FROZEN. In the past we have also had the crab sandwiches very nice. Good value, staff are very friendly its a nice oldy wordly pub.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank linncarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“First class - a real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great food, great location, great staff. What more can I say than when we are back in in the area we will be back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simonharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rainbow and Dove also viewed

 

Been to The Rainbow and Dove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing