We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and facilities in a bland, beige sort of way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good hotel and facilities in a bland, beige sort of way”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a business conference. Large spacious hotel. Bedroom comfortable and clean. Only had breakfast which was buffet style and a varierty of food and good quality. All staff that i met were friendly and polite. Gym was looking a little tired around the edges but fine for what i needed. Swimming pool was warm, with jacuzzi and steam room. Nothing negative to say about my brief stay and i would return. A car was needed to go elsewhere and Nuneaton was a short drive away and had an excellent curry at the Agra Palace which had been recommended and was a good choice. As it was paid for by the company i have not commented on value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKEL09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon MKEL09
I appreciate your positive remarks on our Puma Hinckley Island Hotel. I will let the staff know you were happy with their "service with a smile"!
Great to hear no negative comments and that you are looking forward to staying with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    682
    401
    226
    143
See reviews for
519
468
44
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on business during March 2013. The hotels location is good for getting around various area's of the midlands being just off the M69. I was given an executive room which was a good size, comfortable and clean and with all the expected amenities except a shoe cleaning cloth, but maybe i'm being picky. However, it is a long walk to the rooms. The rooms are accessed via the rotunda which unfortunately can be like a wind tunnel and feel cold. Ask for a room away from the rotunda area as this is where the lifts are and people congregate or functions are held.. also be careful to ensure that the curtains are closed at night as many of the rooms are overlooked or on the same level as the car park. Breakfast is a buffet style service which is average at best, I did try dinner on the first evening but it was poor so never bothered the other two evenings. I think this hotel makes its income from corporate events of which two were in place when I stayed. This may reflect upon the very average cuisine. Park your car at the front to unload your luggage when you check in otherwise you may have a very long trek from the car car dragging your luggage behind you. Whomever the designed this hotel should give back their fee...guest friendly it isn't. The staff do try their best and are always around to help. It's not a bad hotel, it's just..........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSC160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon BSC160
We are ideally located being just off of the M69 motorway and our hotel is a popular venue for conferences.
I am pleased you were happy with your executive room. If any of our guests have a request to be located in a quiet area, we ask them to do this prior to arrival in order for reception to ensure they have suitable rooms
Your comments that meals were average have been taken on board.
I feel this is each individuals personal opinion as we have as many excellent reviews on the food in general as negative reviews.
Although we specialise in conferences during the week, we do cater for all types of guests and have special family packages which have proved to be very popular along with weddings and leisure events
Our car park accommodates 600 vehicles, hence if the hotel is busy sometimes you do have to park away from the main reception area.
However, if you require assistance with luggage, a member of staff is always at hand to help.
Positive comments about the staff and their being helpful!
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future .......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here along with loads of colleagues for a Corporate Conference, which I enjoyed immensely as it is not very often you get to meet with so many friends on one occasion... the car park was spacious and seemed to be large enough for everyone.
The conference held in the Paris and London rooms, and the staff (not sure if it was hotel staff or company staff) seemed to be able to handle and manage large numbers of people well. The buffet lunch was fine, but forgettable... and the evening meal for around 350 delegates slotted in well above the ordinary. Enjoyed the Triumph bar which is full of motorbike stuff from the nearby Triumph Motorcycle factory.

The Executive Rooms were large with 2 King Size Beds, very clean and fresh, but a bit 1980s... I havent seen heat-lamps in a bathroom for ages !!!

Lets face it, Business Conferences means this hotel needs to be efficient rather than soulful, and it manages that quite well. Corporate feasts Yes... weekend breaks.... er, No.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptCamshaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon CaptCamshaft
Thank you for your five star review on the Puma Hinckley Island Hotel
As well as it being a great meeting place, I am pleased to hear you were happy with our car parking facilities; conference rooms; the friendliness and professionalism of the staff and the meals.
The themed Triumph Bar is a great conversation breaker and enjoyed by all guests!
Our executive rooms are very large and airy - some do have heat lamps in the bathroom, but as long as it does its job ..!
During the week we do specialise in Conferences and Corporate guests, however, at the weekends and during holidays we welcome couples and families to the hotel and have great feedback from them.
It will be lovely to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice Hotel comfortable rooms. Good evening meal although service slow. Satisfactory breakfast. Expensive drinks. Heating in bedroom not adequate. Room must have been used by a smoker because smell of smoke evident although supposed to be non-smoking. Staying on a Mystery Trip so not our personal choice nevertheless enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon Janice B
I have taken note of your mention of the smell of smoke in your bedroom. We have a strict non smoking policy throughout the hotel, hence if you had reported this to reception, they would have moved you to another room immediately.
However, on a positive note, I am pleased to note you did enjoy your stay overall.
I look forward to meeting you on your next Mystery Trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Catering for c400 people they were very attentive although the conference room and gala evening dinner was a little cramped for that number. I had a premier room which was good 4* standard if not 5*. Breakfast was a little disappointing food was not as hot as it might have been and had to wait 10 mins for eggs to arrive but a small point really for a well run business hotel. Thank you guys!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Passepartout1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon Passepartout1530
Thanks for your positive comments on the Hinckley Island Hotel and your statement of it being a well run business hotel.
I am pleased you were happy with the standard of your room along with the catering facilities for over 400 people.
Due to the amount of people attending the conference, breakfast service was slightly delayed. However, I am glad that did not spoil your stay.
Looking forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

It's not awful - it is just bland and without a soul. Arrival, huge car park and long walk to reception and a long walk to the rooms. Exec bedroom was spacious, clean, but showing its age. Free wifi signal weak and speed slow. Main function of hotel is hosting large corporate conferences, making for busy noisy bars and very average food. Was a guest for three days attending a corporate training event. Ok, but not great, for business - would not stay for business stopover or leisure the whole place has no soul and is not very comfortable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kahjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Good afternoon kahjm
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to note that although you believe the hotel is without soul, at least it has body! We are one of the largest conference hotels in the area and live up to the four star quality we offer, however, it is hard to inject personality and character into such a large hotel. We do however have the themed Triupmph bar and several other features which make us somewhat unique. During the school holidays and weekends we have a special family break which has proved to be very successful and popular with children and their parents, showing although deal with mainly corporate guests during the week, we also cater for families. Maybe you could visit with us over a weekend and see a different side to our hotel and what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in mid March 2013, and I enjoyed my two night conference. After a 2 hour road journey, it was very easy to find and parking was far better than most hotels. My bedroom may not have been typical, as it appeared to be a suite with King size bed and sitting area. The bed was nice and firm, but the pillows were a major disappointment as they were lumpy and hard. The duvet was far too thin for mid March and I could find no extra blankets/sheets as I searched the wardrobe. The bathroom hosted a very large bath which accomodated my 6 foot frame, but getting out of it was hard work, as the bathroom was very cold. The taps on both the bath and the hand basin were a challenge. They would be hard work for pensioners! After a long time trying, I failed to get a wiFi signal in my bedroom and had to sit in reception with my laptop instead!
Generally, the meetings rooms and conference facilities were very good. Everything was on a large scale - very american. Food, for a hotel, was above average on portion size and quality.
I would be happy to go to another conference here as facilities were appropriate, but for a family/social event it may be a smite impersonal. Its a good hotel, but aspects of the bedrooms (wall tiles and basins) were looking a bit tired.

Room Tip: I had a good bedroom at the futhest end of a corridor - it may well have been bigger than average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon Willywill
Thank you for your recent review and your comments on the room. I am pleased to hear you were impressed with the room itself although concerned that you had inadequate bedding. However, if you had contacted reception, they would have arranged to have alternative pillows supplied along with further sheets/duvet.
Again, happy to hear your remarks on the meeting rooms and conference facilities, along with the quality and portions of food in the restaurant.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
1.2 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,147 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
3.7 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
367 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Hinckley Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Hinckley Island

Property: Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Address: Watling Street, Hinckley LE10 3JA, England (Formerly Hinckley Island Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Hinckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Hinckley Island 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently undergone a £11 million refurbishment, Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Hotel and Conference Venue has 362 stylish bedrooms perfectly designed to offer guests all the comforts of home. With 24 hour room service and free WiFi, our spacious hotel bedrooms come fully equipped with large, comfortable beds, en-suite bathrooms, flat screen TVs with Freeview, hairdryers, trouser presses and more. The hotel also boasts an all-day Costa Coffee bar, an on-site Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill, Juvenate Health and Leisure Club with indoor pool, and extensive meeting, function and events spaces with 26 rooms accommodating up to 650 guests. Complimentary parking is also available for up to 600 cars. Nestled in the heart of Leicestershire and surrounded by beautiful countryside, our four star hotel is perfect for a romantic weekend getaway, family adventure, a wedding haven, or a business base. Situated short drives from two golf courses, Bosworth Battlefield, Twycross Zoo, Drayton Manor Theme Park, and the two picturesque cities of Coventry and Leicester, Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Hotel and Conference Venue offers a central location to explore local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jurys Inn Hinckley Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinckley Island Hotel
Barcelo Hinckley
Island Hinckley
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing