We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh dear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What can i say, stayed here for 1 night in December for a wedding, stayed in a classic room
on the second floor, which you had to get to via the 1st floor then up 2 flights of stairs.
size of room not a problem. Broken Bathroom floor tiles with no grout keeping them down, so with every step they came up, could have been very dangerous.
If anyone was staying in the room below us, all i can say is sorry, i have never heard squeaky floorboards like it, think everyone one of them was broken. Bed rather small for a double. Upside: the breakfast was very nice. As was the Wedding.

Room Tip: Would choose a contemporary room, if budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frizzy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments and apologies for the issues in your room. Can I just ask if you made reception aware of this? If so then we would have been more than willing to address the situation as quickly as possible by reporting the issue to maintenance or changing your room.

Once again I apologise and hopefully we can welcome you back to stay sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights B&B over Christmas in a junior Suite which was very spacious clean and comfy. The swimming pool is larger than many hotel pools,17m, and the hot tub, sauna and steam room were put to good use whenever possible. The spa took some finding which was an entertaining challenge with staff met on corridors making a point of asking if they could help.
The breakfast was typical buffet style with scrambled eggs although if asked fried eggs were provided. No fish option, the pastries were bought in,wrapped, and the bread choice limited. The staff were very efficient and attentive even at busy times and you were generally met with a smile.
The Bar areas really lacked atmosphere and after one drink left. We would look in but generally went elsewhere. We prefer log fires and comfy furniture. We recommend both The Anchor & The Sycamore in the village of Burbage.
Reception generally not welcoming and as the first and last point of contact needs a shake up. Don't rely on a wake up calls!!!. Reception and bar areas need addressing as they let the hotel down however those things that were right more than compensated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I agree that our spa facilities are a real plus point for the business.
On your point regarding the reception area I can only apologise for the experience you received, as you can see from other reviews the front desk has received a lot of praise recently but I have taken note of your comments. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back for another stay soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in the gorgeous junior contemporary suite on December 20th as we were going to the Ice magic Christmas party.
The room was absolutely spotless, I felt like were we the first people to stay there... It was so Clean, new looking and comfortable.. I am guessing the rooms are pretty new.. The bathroom was amazing!... Great shower and perfect sized bath.
Had a blow dry and style in the hairdressers on site, that was a treat too.. Lovely young and pleasant stylist and very friendly atmosphere in the hair studio.
We only live in nuneaton, But want to have the opportunity to stay here again soon, Such a high standard!...

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Akira67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your very kind words, as you're local then please feel free to call in any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We attended one of Sketchleys 'Magical Ice Partys' and had a great time. Got a discounted room because of the event so £90 saw us stay in a contemporary junior suite which was wicked! Massive room and bed, cracking views and comfy! Food at the party was obviously mass produced and not the greatest but the night and disco were good fun. Drinks are a bit pricey too. John and Lorraine on reception are really helpful and polite. The spa and pool was really nice and relaxing and really clean too. Overall a nice relaxing place.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elliott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for the complimentary review, I have relayed your appreciation to the reception team for their hard work in making your stay more enjoyable.
Please feel free to visit our facebook page, website or follow us on twitter as we have more party/social events planned for the coming months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

£59 saw us stay in a Junior Suite with full English breakfast and full use of the Spa facilities!

Room was spacious, clean, warm and well equipped with good flat screen TV!

Good location just off A5/M69.

Will definitely return!

Breakfast buffet style and, as such, bacon/sausages etc left under heat lamps and overcooked but staff were helpful and cooked us fresh poached eggs each morning which were excellent!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 82 which was far enough away from function rooms to be peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARRY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted you had a great stay with us and look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went with a friend for spa treatments which was execellent also used the swimming pool and dacuzzi which were clean.they put us in in the master suite which we were not expecting and it was like staying in a flat very spacious..had a lovely meal at the restaurant in the evening which was nice.breakfast was a bit disorganised not enough staff on had to wait ages for toast etc and someone tried to take our table they need more stalk.overall I would come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for the review and we are glad you had a pleasant stay. I have taken onboard your comments about the breakfast service and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our stay was for 3 nights but on our final morning and not wanting to leave, John (Reception Manager) arranged for us to stay in the same room for an extra night. Room 222 is spacious with large bathroom and a pleasant garden view, all furnishings and amenities were excellent. Our stay was very much enhanced by all the staff at Sketchley Grange, from housekeeping, maintenance, leisure club, restaurant staff and none more so by John. John's attention to detail, the needs and comfort of hotel guests, are of upmost important to him and he clearly shows he enjoys his work.

Many thanks to housekeeping who found my pair of glasses!

Would we stay at Sketchley Grange Hotel in the future, the answer is a definite YES!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodycalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are really pleased you had a great stay. I have notified and thanked both John and the housekeeping staff for their great work and we hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
7.1 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,489 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
1,036 reviews
17.4 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
765 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa

Address: Sketchley Lane, Hinckley LE10 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Hinckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range: $78 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sketchley Grange is the perfect location to connect with colleagues, family and friends: Situated on the borders of Leicestershire and Warwickshire Minutes away from M69 Less than 10 miles to Leicester and Coventry Less than 30 minutes to Birmingham NEC, Birmingham Airport, East Midlands Airport, Warwick and Stratford. Please be advised during the month of December the hotel will be hosting festive parties and also food service and leisure times will be restricted from the 24th December 2017 until 2nd January 2018, please call our team for more details on this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sketchley Grange Hotel Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hotel And Spa
Best Western Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa Hinckley, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing