We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian in Hinckley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Simla

Simla
Ranked #7 of 101 Restaurants in Hinckley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hitchin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Hinckley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I've lost count how many times we've eaten at The Simla. This isn't just due to the fact we live just round the corner but because its honestly the best Indian in Hinckley if not Leicestershire! Food is always delicious and portions too much for even the largest appetite. When the bill arrives it always seems not enough for the feast we have eaten. Staff our always efficient and nothing is too much trouble. After trying many other Indian restaurants this is always the top of the list. If you haven't been yet book a table now for tomorrow night you won't regret it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank little_tigerlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    72
    21
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hinckley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Even on a busy night the staff accomodated our large party and everything was delivered at the same time with a smile, the service is outstanding and the food was amazing. I think pretty much everyone had a different dish and all plates went back clean. They were great at advising on dishes and happy to add or remove ingredients to accomodate, I would def recommend again esp. for a get together, these guys know what they re doing and they do it well. Will def be back in the new year :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashbyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab Christmas party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We had our christmas party here and had such a fabulous night. The food was excellent and great value for money. Mo and his team are so friendly and helped make our night. Thank you xxx

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duckbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Haven't been here for a while but had an excellent meal with excellent company. Even though the restaurant was busy the staff couldn't do enough to help us (we had booked a table for eight when there was ten of us!!!! Lol...Not my fault, I didn't make the booking).
There is a really good choice of starters and mains, and the portion sizes are very generous, I struggled to finish my main meal,(perhaps should have skipped the papadoms and chutney to start with) it really was delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

8 of us visited on a busy Saturday and had a fantastic evening. All of the group ordered something different and everything came out correct, hot and together. We have all eaten in plenty of Indian restaurants and we all concluded that Simla was one of the best.
Waiters kept everyone well supplied with drink and the final bill at the end of the evening was very reasonable.
I look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simla also viewed

Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 

Been to Simla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing