We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small hotel with helpful staff and very good restaurant”
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect small hotel with helpful staff and very good restaurant”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

As one not used to travelling alone, staff here couldn't have been more helpful. Room was small but double bed very comfortable and bathroom completely modernised so very plush. Tea and coffee facilities in room very comprehensive and generous, also the breakfast. Restaurant food at the exceptional end of good!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heasandford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    56
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
64
159
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed at the Kirklands Hotel only for 1 night as a stop off point on a return road trip to the south coast having visited family in Aberdeen. We chose The Kirklands in Kinross for several reasons; firstly we chose Kinross for its close proximity to the M90, beautiful local landscape and things to do nearby. Secondly having looked online at what accommodation was on offer in Kinross we decided it was worth paying that bit extra for the lovely well appointed rooms at the Kirklands rather than staying at the premier inn for example.

During our short stay we managed to visit the Tullibardine whisky distillery in Blackford (only half an hour drive through beautiful landscape) and on the doorstep of Kinross is Loch Leven, where we took the little boat trip to the island on which stands the ruins of Loch Leven Castle. We decided to dine in the Kirklands Restaurant - food was delicious and service was friendly and attentive.

We would definitely recommend the Kirklands and hope to return for a slightly longer stay next time to see and do some more of the local attractions and activities that we didn't have time for on this visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snap-happy-rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and could not have been happier with our choice. The owners, Shona and Anthony are a young dynamic professional couple who manage the hotel with a level of customer service that is sadly lacking in some other establishments. They are very much hands on and their influence is obvious in their very professional team.
The hotel is very clean and has a modern decor throughout.. The food was of an excellent quality. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and nothing was too much trouble (even getting tomato juice which wasnt on the menu). We dined in the hotel one night and it was busy with guests and locals, so booking is to be recommended. Again the food was lovely and well presented, the white chocolate cheesecake and apple crumble were to die for and we am only sorry we could not finnish it.
The hotel has a friendly bar which again was busy. It has a large selection of wines and spirits and and extensive cocktail list. We can personally recommend the Pina Coladas.
Our room was very clean and comfortable with crisp white linen. They bathroom was quite large with a walk-in shower which was very powerful, but no bath.
We would also recommend the local Indian Restaurant, the Raj Mahal. We had an excellent meal here and the only downside was the wine was overpriced.
All in all we had a wonderful weekend and would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a small hotel with excellent service.
We hope to visit again soon in the near future and once again a massive thank you to Shona, Anthony and their team for helping to make our anniversary a special occassion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jingles29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Don't let the slightly run down exterior put you of this hotel has good food, helpful service and nicely furnished rooms. I had a single room which was small but had a double bed and was newly decorated, bar food and breakfast were also very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoredScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed one night on a tour of Scotland. This was by far the best value we have had on the trip. The room was large and comfortable with a great bathroom. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynMillicent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed weekend of 28/29 August while visiting relatives near Kinross.
The service is excellent and I found the owner Anthony very friendly. The food is good and a good choice is offered. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaroleWestofScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We've just visited the Kirklands Hotel in Kinross for the third time. In previous years we stayed for 2 or 3 nights, this time we stayed for a whole week and were not disappointed!
We prefer to stay here than in Edinburgh during the festival because it's much better value for money and is nearer to the rest the sights of Scotland.
There's lots of cosy looking B&Bs around in the surrounding countryside, but they're often disappointing when you get inside. The Kirkland is different, it's surprisingly chic and stylish, the restaurant and bar area look great and the rooms are modern yet cosy. We had an attic room with countryside views and a very nice bathroom.
The food in the restaurant is excellent and you have to book most nights because people come from miles around for a meal. The breakfasts are a treat. Don't miss the porridge with optional toppings.
The young couple who own and manage the hotel are lovely. They ensure all the guests are happy and will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
24 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
551 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Property: Kirklands Hotel
Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing