We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch”
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our Group (26 of us) enjoyed an exceptional Christmas lunch here today. You couldn't fault anything. The welcome, organisation, service, surroundings and, most importantly, the food were all perfect. The homemade mince pies served with the teas and coffee afterwards were worth going for alone.
Forget the Green Hotel, it has had it's day, this is way better than it ever was.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tern2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 369 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a gem. The Proprietors, Shona and Anthony, made me feel at home in their comfortable, clean and warm establishment. Rooms are clean and well appointed. The on site restaurant is wonderful with an interesting variety of menu options; each item is well prepare and delicious. Their on premise pub is well stocked and be sure to ask Kara about their single malt scotch and specialty gin selection, she is very knowledgeable and a joy. Centrally located to many area attractions. This hotel is not to be missed, I will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Found this hotel on Google whilst on a driving tour in the UK and Scotland. We just turned up and asked if there was a room available. There was and lovely it was too. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, but not in an obsequious way - they genuinely wanted to please us. Asking for breakfast at 7am was not an issue. The food was amazing and the receptionist in the morning even filled my flask with tea for me. I would certainly return if in the area again and would recommend the hotel to any traveller. I would only ask that they get some draught cider in!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Found this hotel on trip advisor and went to their website. I was hooked as soon as I looked at their restaurant and bar menus. Locally sourced food. 10 gins from Scotland. You read that correctly: 10 gins from Scotland. And a plethora of single malt whiskeys as well. We were not disappointed. The food was world class. Lara knew everything you need to know about the gins and whiskeys. Our hosts, Shona and Anthony, could not have been more personable, friendly and helpful. The rooms and public spaces were immaculate. The location is ideal for touring, golfing, shopping, skiing and munro bagging. What's not to like? I would not even consider staying anywhere else in this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Have been there twice now its just excellent.Management and staff are so friendly.Super breakfast cooked to order. Menu in the restaurant is fantastic if you like your food this is the place to stay. Rooms and facilities are great.Its only 1/2 hour from Edinburgh airport and 20 minutes from train station where there is free parking for a trip to Edinburgh..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aubrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Kirklands hotel in Kinross. Many thanks to the staff who were brilliant throughout. Lovely dinner in the restaurant, the Arbroath smoky and leek tart is exceptional. Good prices in the Bar and a relaxing atmosphere. Great breakfast cooked to order. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steeples12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a great place. The staff went that extra mile to make our stay outstanding. The rooms and facilities were just excellent. Do yourself a favour - make the trip out of Edinburgh to Kinross and the Kirklands hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Prufrockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
138 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
590 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: $109 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing