We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dominic from Kildare”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dominic from Kildare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

W booked this lovely hotel as a meeting venue for our daughter's wedding in August, 2013. As soon as we arrived we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite with a comfortable sitting room and very comfortable and clean bedrooms and bathroom. Breakfast is a treat here and we loved the smoked kippers. Evening meals in the restaurant were first class. We hosted a dinner for 20 and it went like clockwork. Drinks menu is first class with some good wines as well. Shona and Anthony almost became a part of our family and they quickly dealt with any requests. Well worth going back which we hope to do next Spring. We feel that Christmas here would be a real treat.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the nearby Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    54
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
62
155
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were very impressed considering the rate is cheaper than a chain like premier inn. We used the hotel as a stopover on our way further North.

Service was excellent. The owners were very friendly and professional. Catered for dietary requirements better than most restaurants we've been to. Made to feel welcome.

Breakfast was excellent. Tasty but not greasy and they went out of their way to make us more comfortable.

Dinner also excellent in all regards and on par with some good restaurants we've been to.

Kinross is nothing to write home about but has a lovely walk around the loch.

Overall, Kirklands goes above and beyond what you'd expect for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

From start to finish, our stay in the Kirklands Hotel was an excellent choice. Shona and Anthony were such welcoming hosts, and they and their staff provided a relaxed, but at the same time very comfortable atmosphere within a modern interior. All staff very friendly and efficient, but never intrusive, achieving a perfect balance. Our room was spacious and very clean, with a large ensuite. We have eaten before in the hotel, which is a wonderful experience in itself, but had never stayed overnight. Relaxed and delicious breakfast the next morning "rounded off" our treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited the Kirklands Hotel for a meal as we were staying at a campsite nearby. Despite having a slightly longer wait for a table than had been intimated initially, the food, wine, and atmosphere more than made up for this. The meal itself was beautifully presented and very tasty. Will definitely be back, and will reccomend to others

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwhite_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had been here for a meal previously and decided to return for our wedding anniversary - one of over forty years.

The hotel is a listed building and Antony and Shona are restricted in what they can do. They cannot put in a lift and modify much of the layout but tried extremely hard to accommodate us with our restricted abilities.

Our stay was extremely enjoyable. The comfortable environment in the afternoon whilst we relaxed with a glass of wine followed up with a lovely meal and finishing up with a drink in the bar, engaging with locals and fellow visitors.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide choice and was enhanced by Antony's banter - he is Irish and, in my opinion, has not kissed the Blarney Stone, he has swallowed it!

All in all, a lovely experience and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: As I have said, it is a listed building so there is no lift. Those with mobility problems should ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I have posted here before about The Kirklands and can only say once again how much my wife and I have enjoyed another excellent meal. Living locally, we have eaten here quite a number of times over the last 12 months and have always found everyone so welcoming, with the bar and restaurant clean and tidy and without hesitation, would recommend a visit here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our tour of Scotland.
Great start to a great week.
Food was fantastic. The owners were very welcoming and the bar had a great choice of rums (my husband was in his element)
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIlyBatchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
12.2 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Property: Kirklands Hotel
Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing