We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Four us went for a dinner at the hotel. Staff were warm, friendly and attentive. The food was delicious, the atmosphere relaxed. Our hosts who live locally and have eaten at the hotel a number of times had nothing but praise for the owners and the staff. A lovely, non fussy evening with excellent food,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 368 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Anthony and Shona always have the greatest of welcomes for the tired traveller. I never fail to be impressed with their professional but homely approach with their visitors. This time on my business visit I was lucky enough to take my good lady, I've been harping on about the Kirklands for ages, now she knows why.
The menu never ceases to impress and this time the wood pigeon salad and the turine turned our heads, this together with the impressive Italian wines suggested by Anthony made the meal really worth the money (not that expensive either).
I will always continue to stay at the Kirklands whenever I'm North of the border and will always sing its praises.
It just has to be tried!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are impressive en-suite - maybe a bit quieter to the rear of the hotel particularly in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Three of us met or lunch at the end of June '13. The welcome was most friendly and we were soon seated in the light and airy dining area. I had Breast of wood pigeon salad; a generous helping with delicious meat, and to my surprise I ate all the salad. When we come back I hope this will still be on the menu; but other starters sound tempting. The dish included nuts and croutons.
For main courses we had Risotto of tomato, mozarello and herbs. Although a small portion was chosen, the dish was generous and satisfying. Also fried fish and chips, with "real" hand-carved chips - excellent and generous. I chose a small haddock and redwood cheese open omelette, but again it was more than sufficient, and very tasty.
We had soft drinks, and coffee.
Everything was perfect, including the service. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gm8apx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Living locally, my wife and I have been really impressed with the standard and quality of food, experienced since the hotel was refurbished in 2010. The staff are well presented and knowledgeable. If you were eating alone in the restaurant, it may be useful to have the wifi beefed up, ( no pun intended ) so it would cover that area, having said that, I am told it works well in the bar area. I would most certainly recommend eating at The Kirklands, you will not be disappointed - the owners ought to be proud of their chef and team, as they turn out some excellent food, at very reasonable prices.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having returned from the british superbikes at knockhill, we stayed at the kirklands have been here a few years now and each time we return I would say that its just better and better each time. Shona and Anthony are great hosts and all the staff are lovely. food is as always excellent. so if anyones ever thinking off visiting Kinross this is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stopped at the Kirklands Hotel for lunch on our way south. Had a great menu with lots of variety. Food and decor were top notch. The owners are exceptionally friendly and very eager to please. The customer is first at this great establishment.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way to Edinburgh from the Orkney Islands. This hotel was very accommodating to our needs. I wished I remembered that guy and gal who helped us. They were both very sociable and helpful. Dinner and breakfast was good. We could easily walk to Loch Leven from the hotel. The floor in the room was very warped, but made room fun. I wish there was a ranking between 'excellent' and 'very good.'

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganderandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
589 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
14.7 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing