We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise”
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We have seen adverts for this Hotel in the Scotsman newspaper and thought we would have lunch today. The Hotel looks old and dated from the outside but inside it is very smart and modern. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, and as it was near Christmas we chose from the Christmas menu which had a good choice as well as the traditional fare.
We both had a main and a pudding and both very good and finished with coffee and mince pies. Complimentary crackers with party hats were a nice touch and all the other dinners were in a Christmas mood.
We will be back, as we both enjoyed our meal. It is worth stopping in Kinross to visit this Hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GarryFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    57
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
65
165
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed with a collegue en route North for business and chose to stop here because of the TripAdvisor reviews and special offer. It was well worth it. The accommodation is very modern in design and facilities. The staff, particularly the owners, are very helpful including advising us to take a few minutes before continuing our travells to look at the loch on the frosty morning and with their concerns for us working up-north in the snow! Food in the restaurant is worth making the trip for, my greatest commendations to the chef and kitchen staff. This was all so nice that the few niggles can easily be over looked - but just for reference they were: original single glazed windows were cold, some areas like the stairway are starting to look like they need redecorating, rooms on the first floor were noisy when the bar was busy to late and the bar is expensive. (My collegue managed to cut his head on a shelf in the bedroom - but I doubt that was the hotel's fault.) But overall, such a good stay that we stopped there on the way back also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on 1st Dec for one night as we were up visiting some of my family in the local area. We arrived slightly earlier than check in time but that wasn't a problem - we were taken to our room which was surprisingly larger than i expected and backed out onto my old School playing fields!! The room we had was at the top too so was lovely and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and large and had been done very modern. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. The bar itself was stocked with some nice beers but they also did lovely lattes for those who wanted a non alcoholic drink. The bar area was comfortable, very modern and relaxing and if we need a Hotel in the area in future when we are up - we would definitely return. The breakfast offered a good variety of food too and the full Scottish was so large - I struggled to finish it. All in all the Hotel, whilst small, offered all the intimacy and friendliness of a B and B but with the added bonus of a nice bar area and more relaxing than a large chain Hotel - as we have often found breakfast at chain hotels too noisy and chaotic and also found B and B places at breakfast to be too small whereby you are almost on top of one another with not enough privacy to talk. This Hotel offered comfort, modern facilities, great bar, fantastic staff and relaxing and peaceful surroundings all for an excellent price!

Room Tip: Get the room at the top - room no.6 for quietness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithsPreston_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is on the main street and the external appearance is typical of the area, a bit foreboding.
This changes once you are inside as it has clearly been refurbished to a high standard, both the bar and the dining room are furnished in a modern style which seems to suit the building.
The rooms and bathrooms are also excellent if a little cold, although fan heaters are provided if needed.
I had dinner in the dining room and the food was excellent as was the breakfast next day, the staff and owners are friendly and efficient. I tend to judge breakfast by the standard of the coffee, this didn't disappoint!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyndrum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A group if 20 of us visited here for a Christmas lunch. Service was outstanding and the food was quite excellent. Really appreciated the effort for my gluten free diet! All great, will be recommending!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed one night while travelling on business, attracted by TripAdvisor reviews. I was not disappointed,Unpretentious from the outside, but inside really high standards and excellent value, Room was roomy, smart, clean with modern decor. Evening meal and breakfast were very, very good. Staff all friendly and helpful. Why can't more hotels be like this? Business travel would be a pleasure and not a chore!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It doesn't look much from the outside, but as soon as you reach the entrance the recent contemporary refurbishment is apparent. Fire blazing with funky sofas nearby, where the kids chilled out for a couple of hours while we went for a walk to the loch to watch birds. Very friendly couple run this hotel, and have put in some nice touches (e.g. ipod dock in the kids room).

Supper was great (reviewed separately) and breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HackneyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
27 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
280 reviews
6.9 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#4 of 12 in Dunfermline
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Property: Kirklands Hotel
Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing