We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food matched with excellent service.”
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A group if 20 of us visited here for a Christmas lunch. Service was outstanding and the food was quite excellent. Really appreciated the effort for my gluten free diet! All great, will be recommending!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed one night while travelling on business, attracted by TripAdvisor reviews. I was not disappointed,Unpretentious from the outside, but inside really high standards and excellent value, Room was roomy, smart, clean with modern decor. Evening meal and breakfast were very, very good. Staff all friendly and helpful. Why can't more hotels be like this? Business travel would be a pleasure and not a chore!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It doesn't look much from the outside, but as soon as you reach the entrance the recent contemporary refurbishment is apparent. Fire blazing with funky sofas nearby, where the kids chilled out for a couple of hours while we went for a walk to the loch to watch birds. Very friendly couple run this hotel, and have put in some nice touches (e.g. ipod dock in the kids room).

Supper was great (reviewed separately) and breakfast too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HackneyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had not booked for our last night in our Scotland driving tour and were struggling to get close to, yet not in, Edinburgh for our return train journey the next day. As usual, we consulted Trip Advisor as we searched options as we neared the end of the day. The Kirklands popped up and we booked on the phone.

When we pulled in, we thought uh oh. The place didn't give you a good feeling as the old facade on a busy street was our first impression. But, it was great. The young husband and wife team who run this work their bums off to make it special and they have succeeded from the modernisation of the interiors, to the high quality of food and service. It could not have been a more fitting end to leave a very positive lasting impression of our whole Scotland trip.

If you are even remotely in this region, stay here! If you aren't looking for lodging, eat here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArCDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having stayed at the Kirklands before as an individual, I was hopeful that five fellow Scottish graduates, plus wives, would enjoy the Kirklands experience over an October weekend. My confidence was well rewarded as all ten guests were welcomed as old friends and exposed to the wonderful, friendly and loyal service which is the hallmark of a good hotel. The food, the bar, the rooms and the dining-room are all high quality and the breakfast sets you up for the day. Having stayed at hotels all over the World, at all levels, my group gave the Kirklands top marks in every department, which is a pretty convincing accolade. Well done the KIrklands.

Room Tip: Simply state your preference on booking and the staff will do their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I found the hotel clean, very comfortable and very relaxing. The management and staff were very helpful and friendly, having two children with us, you could not wish for a more friendly service. The food in the restaurant was exceptional - faultless.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the second time that I have stayed at the Kirklands. Don't be deceived by the rather old fashioned exterior of the hotel.
The interior is very modern, cleverly designed, spotlessly clean and most important of all, is extremely good value.
The bedrooms are all comfortable, delightfully decorated and modern, as are the bathrooms which are en suite. The restaurant has a cosy atmosphere, friendly service and a varied and well balanced choice of dishes, all of which are cooked perfectly. For a modern restaurant the portions are generous and very reasonably priced.
I doubt if you would find better cocktails anywhere in provincial Scotland than they serve in the bar. If cocktails are not your thing, they had about eight different Scottish gins and copious choices of Malt and blended whisky as well as a selection of beers and lager.
Although our group were older than most of the other customers/residents, we felt very much at ease with the younger set, who were mostly young couples. People of any age will enjoy the hospitality here.
A feature of this hotel is that ALL the staff are incredibly friendly. The young owner and his wife lead from the front and they have instilled a real sense of service throughout their business.
We went to Gleneagles for dinner one night and we all said that the service and friendliness at the Kirklands was at least as good. Quite an accolade and thoroughly deserved.
The hotel is only a mile from the main Edinburgh to Perth motorway. A small detour that will leave you happy.

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms, but saw all of them and they all looked very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kinross
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
8.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: $97 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing