We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shetland and Back”
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

6 of us stayed on our way to Aberdeen and the Shetlands. Great service - good food - very pleasant people - great value - all meals spot on - Thanks

Room Tip: Side Room Very Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 368 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just back from a fantastic night at the Kirklands hotel. From the minute we walked the service was amazing. They went out there way to make our visit extra special. Will def go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lismackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

All in all, brilliant. VERY accommodating and friendly.

Allowed later breakfast and check out times to accommodate for our excesses the night before.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bophopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

highly recommend. excellent food. nice bar area.worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Kirklands is unprepossessing from the outside but please don't make the mistake of letting that put you off. Once through the weighty front door you are in for an absolute treat.
Bags taken and carried for you in a 3 star rated establishment isn't the norm, nor necessarily is the friendliness of the welcome, but both were standard here.
We stayed at the Kirklands 3 years ago when Anthony and Shona were in the early days of updating and attempting to return the place to its former glory. Well now much of the work is complete and a great job they've done of it. The bar / lounge area is light and airy and the ultra modern furnishings and bar work well in an old building. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom has also been completely refurbished since our last visit. Huge bath and good, powerful shower too.
We only had the opportunity to eat in the restaurant once which is a great shame as the food was superb. Restaurant reservations are definitely advisable at the weekends and the whole place is buzzing with both bar and restaurant packed. Surely the best recommendation any establishment can have.
Last but definitely not least is the breakfast - the traditional 'Full English' with added black pudding and haggis becomes the 'Full Scottish' and most definitely sets you up for the day - possibly several days :-)
Anthony and Shona have put huge efforts into the Kirklands and thoroughly deserve the success they have had and hopefully with continue to grow their already impressive reputation.
If you haven't been there - go, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 on the top floor away from the road so very quiet. It's an old building with v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keitht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights and wished that we had booked for longer. Our room on the top (second) floor was spacious and had been recently refurbished, with a very good bathroom. Some areas of the hotel show their age but this did not detract from the overall ambience. There is an excellent modern bar area with local beers available. The food is truly excellent, both at dinner and at breakfast. Kinross itself is on Loch Leven, a beautiful area and well worth exploring (particularly the island accessible from Kinross Pier and the RSPB reserve at Vane Farm). All in all, a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in the Kirklands Hotel for 4 days in late May for our 10 year Anniversary and I have to say, we couldn't have made a better choice. Owners Anthony and Shona are to be credited with creating a homely yet modern environment. From the minute we entered the hotel we were treated to 5 star service. Our bags were taken to our room which is a touch some of the bigger hotels have sadly lost. The room was really lovely. Very modern and fresh and a good size also. We had a room at the back of the hotel so the view of the church spire and the setting sun in the evening was fantastic. We were blessed with some fantastic and I believe unusually warm sunny weather for the entire stay. Shona was really helpful with information on the bus services from Kinross to Edinburg city (which was not long and had a quite regular service) and had great suggestions for things to see and do there. We also took a lovely drive down to St Andrews which is only about a 30 minute drive and great to see. My husband (a golf enthusiast) spoke with Anthony the owner about golf in the area and was disappointed he hadn't brought his clubs as it seems there is access to some of the country's best golf clubs within very easy reach.

We ate in the restaurant and in the bar on two different occasions and were massively impressed with not only the quality (which was top class) or the quantity ( which was spot on) but also the wonderful and somewhat different adventurous choices on the menu. As a vegetarian, I sometimes struggle to get a meal that I am happy with never mind hugely impressed with but this restaurant has managed to hit the nail on the head. And the homemade lemon curd ice-cream was worth every calorie!! After dinner we enjoyed some very relaxing drinks and had a vast choice of what to have from Gins, rums and whiskeys to wine and cocktails. For a small hotel in a small town this was totally unexpected. Un-intrusive backround music was playing in the bar which I found great to be able to sit back and relax with.

All in all one of the best experiences we've every had away and The Kirklands is defintely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
583 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: $100 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing