We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and convenient with an amazing view”
other travelers have booked this property
Balgedie Lodge, the old Gate Lodge, recently refurbished, with the magnificent Lomond Hills behind.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balgedie Lodge, the old Gate Lodge, recently refurbished, with the magnificent Lomond Hills behind.
Many hours can be lost enjoying the view of the Loch from the garden. The view of Loch Leven from the Lodge  is simply stunning!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Balgedie Lodge, the old Gate Lodge, recently refurbished, with the magnificent Lomond Hills behind.
Many hours can be lost enjoying the view of the Loch from the garden.
The view of Loch Leven from the Lodge  is simply stunning!
The pretty garden is idyllic all year round and fully enclosed.
The pretty sunroom with it's panoramic and uninterrupted views of Loch Leven.
The kitchen was recently refurbished and has all you need for making great meals away from home.
There is a large dinning table in the kitchen which seats 6 comfortably
There are lots of mod cons in the kitchen including a Nespresso machine and milk frother.
The lovely cosy sitting room is a perfect place to relax in after days out.
There is a piano and a guitar for guests to use and enjoy! As well as a flat screen TV & DVD.
Prices include a welcome basket, cupboard basics, fire wood, all linens, electricity and heating
The lovely open fire is a great feature and a central focus of the sitting room.
The master bedroom looks out on to the pretty enclosed garden.
The master bedroom can be set up as a twin if required.
Our twin room with pretty tartan. Can be a double & also take an additional bed if requested.
The cosy single, a sweet little hideaway!
The garden is a lovely pretty space that is enclosed so safe for pets and children
Our keep snug blankets are lovely for wrapping up in when outside star gazing or enjoying the view!
The seating area in the garden is great for Loch views by day and the stars at night!
The pretty garden path leads round the Lodge from the front door to the drive.
In the Autumn, looking from the garden over the fields to Loch Leven's Castle Island.
The fields around the Lodge catch the light in beautiful ways, thoughout the year.
A beautiful winter's day with snow pilled high on the garden hedge!
If you are lucky enough to get snow, get cosy inside & enjoy the magical views out.
One of the many spectacular sunsets you might see at the Lodge.
The sunsets are wonderful! This was taken in February from the garden.
The wild flowers all around are gorgeous, not forgetting the beautiful garden ones  too!
Floor plan
Balgedie Lodge was originally the Gate Lodge to Balgedie House.
Looking up the drive that leads to Balgedie House.
The sunset reflecting on Loch Leven, from the sunroom with a drink in hand!
There are so many great places for dogs to roam!
The beautiful city of Perth is only 25 mins away
Stirling Castle is a wonderful day out for the whole family and is only 30 mins away.
There are lots of fabulous golf courses in the area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kinross, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Finnish first
Any
English first
Safari689...
1 review
“Lovely and convenient with an amazing view”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Gatelodge was our home away from home for 2 weeks over the holidays and we couldn't have been more pleased. It was just the right size for our family with everything we could have wanted or needed. Shona provided the comforts of home, a nice welcome basket of goodies and treats and even a Christmas Tree and decorations to make us feel welcome and get us in the holiday spirit.
We had a wonderful and relaxed experience and look forward to staying again next visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Dear Christy and Duncan, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely Xmas and New Year with all your family. And we'd absolutely love you to come back and stay again! Do keep in touch. Many thanks, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarajeanB...
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a fantastic find”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stunning location, lovely cottage and helpful, friendly owner Shona. Enclosed garden for the dogs (no worries about them escaping). Easy walk down to the loch, pub and Loch Levens Larder. We were treated to some beautiful sunsets during our stay. Really didn't want to leave and my husband said he quite happy live there. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2016
Sara, thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so thrilled you all enjoyed the Lodge and the area so much and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again. Since your stay, we've been doing quite a bit of work to the cottage - insulating the sunroom roof was this weekend and we're giving the whole place a paint in January - so I hope you will like all the upgrades on your return - as well as getting to enjoy more of those spectacular sunsets!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toothy2
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a view! ”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely week staying at Gate Lodge, great location & view.
The cottage is well equipped & had everything we needed, it was warm & cosy.
We really enjoyed our stay & hope to return one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Susan, thank you so much. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - and the view! We very much hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny J
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful week in Scotland ”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We are just home from a week stay at the Gate Lodge lovely cosy cottage for our family of 5 and our dogs xx lots of lovely places to walk the dogs and in a great position for lots of local days out with the kids. Would love to go back. The owners were very quick to deal with a problem with the water heating while we were there. The night we arrived a lovely bottle of wine and box of chocolate biscuits was waiting for us which was lovely. Just a lovely place to stay,can't really say much more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Thank you for coming to stay with us earlier this year. We are sorry about the water heater but thanks for alerting us to the problem straight away so we could fix it for you. It's been fully serviced recently and so it shouldn't happen again! We do hope you will be back again soon to enjoy more of the cottage and all there is to do in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TParker_1...
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We enjoyed our week at Gate Lodge, despite the horrific storms we have been plagued with this winter. I would say that the property itself is a little dated and in need of a bit updating. The shower, although it looks fairly new, barely spits at you which may or may not be down to the water pressure. The property is comfortable enough but is on a main road which can be quite busy. We obviously never sat out in the garden but I wouldnt imagine it being very peaceful, although the views over to the loch are lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay despite the wild weather. Sorry you had problems with the shower. We are usually on hand to deal with these things if you had called but thank you for letting me know. We will look into it.
Re updating, the Lodge was refurbished in 2008 with new beds, new bathroom, new kitchen white goods, new flooring throughout, etc, while keeping the original character eg fireplace, stained glass, appropriate furniture. Most rooms are getting a fresh coat of paint next month so sorry that you have missed that.
Kind regards,
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail A
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful relaxing time at the Gate Lodge”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely house and Fiona is indeed a great host - we needed for nothing. Beautiful views across Loch Leven. Nice standard of accom and lovely having some welcome biscuits and bottle of wine on arrival. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best house,view and location”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We travelled to Kinross to watch the Open Championship at St Andrews. This most magnificent property was so comfortable, peaceful and relaxing after a long day watching golf. The views are stunning, the restaurants close buy are good value and the location is ideal. You simply could not ask for more. This property is close to the A9 so travelling to all sightseeing locations, GlenEagles and close by towns is so effortless. No better time spent in Scotland. Simply loved it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing