We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out walking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Leven Heritage Trail

Loch Leven Heritage Trail
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Freckleton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day out walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

well layed out and signed. Path even and easy walking and the cafe at the dock aera in Kinross was very friendly with good coffee

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank vrodrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    46
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“megga fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

an absolutely fabulous walk/cycle path with stunning scenery. It.s nice to go early morning as it.s really quiet and peaceful. A marvellous place to gather your thoughts. Benches all along for a rest. I can.t recommend it highly enough. The only problem i have had on a fair few occasions is inconsiderate dog owners who allow their dogs to bound up in an enthusiastic manner, shaking loch water and saliva all over me and my kids! Horrible! The worst we had was a lady whose dog started licking my small child all over: 'don.t worry', she said, 'he won't bite, he'll just lick you all over like chocolate.' How disgusting is that?! Recently, a large red setter rubbed its slaver all over my son. Luckily we had a wipe or our walk could have been ruined. No apology - these dog owners must think we love their dogs as much as we do. NO! when busy, the amount of cyclists ringing their bells to get by can be a bit much but all in all, a marvellous place well worth coming to kinross especially to do. If you are unsteady on your feet, you can borrow a mobility scooter free of charge from loch leven's larder (phone them to book one if you are dependent on one) paths are great for mobility scooters. Brilliant for prams too (it.s loose stone so better for bigger wheels rather than stroller type and you would definitely need a 3 wheeler double buggy) great for families. No roads to cross, totally car free.

Helpful?
1 Thank tabelmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice track to ride on - can get busy with walkers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We liked the track meandering through the woods and nature reserve. Unfortunately the track can get busy with walkers so if you are on a bike be prepared to slow down quite often - espeicially near Kinross and the little harbour. Also since the track is designed to maximise birdlife around the Loch, most of the time you cannot actually see the Lock from the trail.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Call_me_the_Quack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great cycle and good for prams too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stunning views and not too strenuous. Its great in the winter when the Pink Footed geese are there and also in the summer when the wooded areas are just great for staying cool. I love looking for Kingfisher under the footbridge and also like the wee hide nearby.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andyree Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

easy walking plenty to see and well sign -posted. we only did part of the walk due to time of day but everyone we met was cheery

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bizilizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Leven Heritage Trail also viewed

Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Loch Leven Heritage Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing