We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refurbishing”
Review of The Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Green Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishing”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed one night with friend.

Do not think this is a 4 star hotel. It may have a golf course and be a handy place to stay for the shooting and fishing people, but the actual hotel itself does not warrant 4 stars for accommodation.

Good point: Good sized twin room with bay window overlooking lovely garden. Tea and coffee making facilities.

Bad points: Bathroom: bath so old no enamel left on it so it looked filthy, disgusting old slip mat for bath, sink bowl chipped, extractor fan broken, old shower curtain. My friend refused to use the bathroom, she lived a few miles away and said she would wait until she got home!!! I had no option as I had a long drive home.

Carpet: black stains on it in several places and "sticky" in areas near curtains.

Beds: uncomfortable and noisy, bedding not very attractive.

Floors: I appreciate it is an old building, but very noisy.

Overall decoration: marks and chips on the walls and paintwork,

The carpet in the corridor to our room had holes in it. Cheap old faded pictures on the walls, tired decor. Needs refurbishing.

I did report the above to the hotel who have offered me a 50% refund and said the hotel will be getting refurbished next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0ndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    309
    118
    72
    32
See reviews for
101
398
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadford, Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recent 2 visits have had a great meal.

The Potted smoked haddock is a star dish, Steak pie with sausage great, best wines for value and quality.

Have not stayed in the hotel, but this large comfortable bar is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinofHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent trips to Jocks Bar. We have passed on your comments to our Kitchen and Jock's team and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel for 2 nights as a package which included 3 games of golf and dinner and breakfast. Before we arrived we had read some of the less savoury reviews and arrived expecting the worst. What we found was a delight!
Our room was spacious with arm chairs, the restaurant produced excellent food (good buffet style breakfasts and good quality evening dinners which were nouvelle cuisine in style and may not have filled the hungriest builders labourer but after 3 courses we found to be more than satisfying). The restaurant had a pleasant ambiance and the staff were attentive and professional. The lounge bar area was very comfortable and overlooked a very pleasant grassed courtyard. There was also an additional large residents lounge. The bar and restaurant had a good range of wines and at a reasonable price. We played 3 games of golf on two beautifully kept courses and were impressed by the golf clubhouse which was really nicely furnished. All in all our stay was close to perfection.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dougmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your comments and hope that the next time we stay we can deliver perfection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E.lothian
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We choose this hotel as it had 2 courses and we were able to take our well behaved dog on a lead when we played. Both courses are in superb condition and a challenge for any golfer.
The hotel as stated in many previous reports is TIRED /SHABBY. But the staff we found all very helpful.
We ate in Basil's twice and once in the Italian at the sister hotel....all very good. Breakfast was ample and service reasonable.
We had 2 treatments in the Spa and these were superb, and very good value for money.
NEGATIVES..... The room was not cleaned until after 2pm every day even though we had had left the sign out for it to be serviced from 9am each day.
There was no robes in our room ( which you'd expect for 4star hotel)!! We did get them after asking along with some better pillows as the ones on the bed we awful. The bed quality was also horrendous very hard like sleeping on a board.

Room Tip: Garden view room on ground floor, near to side door easy access to car and taking dog out to the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northerngolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate feedback both positive and constructive. Unfortunately we are all too aware of the problems with an old building and are hoping to refurbish the Green Hotel in the next 12 months - the Windlestrae bedrooms are almost complete now. We are delighted to hear that enjoyed the dining on the Resort and the beauty treatments. Regarding housekeeping and the bathrobes your comments have been passed on to our Operations Manager for review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in beginning of September. I am still wondering how could such hotel received an official 4**** . The hotel website photos seemed too nice for what it is in reality. I rate the hotel no more than a 3***. My room number was 27 and this room should have never put to sell to us.

This hotel had no elevator(s) so we had to carry suit case and walk through such an old and narrow endless corridors and stairs. And every day thereafter. The room was located right in the middle from either end of stairs/corridors from the lobby. Our room was so old with old bed mattress but it was worse when I saw our bathroom…with no shower working and broken toilet roll holder. There were used toilet roll( 1/3 left) standing around. The toilet roll holder was broken with middle bar gone. I only saw two sharp thin metal wings were dangerously hanging on its place. The first night, after mid-night, we did not have shower water. It had no water pressure at all so the night duty staff offered us to shower in another vacant room. We were promised that the problem will be fixed the next day which was the same for the following 3 nights. I also found hand written with ball pen( from previous guest perhaps) “do not disturb” sign hanging behind the door. I used it for 4 nights but no house keeper/room made any attempt to replace it with proper “sign” tag to use. Poorly thin bath towels were ridiculous. We informed the reception several times about all the problems by phone and in person. I also asked to speak to the manager Hanna on duty on that day but she had never contacted us. Do not want to deal with such unprofessionally managed property with unprofessional staffs anymore.

Room Tip: No elevator at this hotel so I would ask for a room near the stairs so one doesn't have to deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are dreadfully sorry to learn of your experience, both from a maintenance aspect and more importantly from our inability to resolve the issues that you experienced from our team. Please accept our sincerest apologies on both counts. If you wish to contact the Hotel directly I would be delighted to discuss the matter with you personally. sales@green-hotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were here for a gig & decided to eat in jocks bar & it was lovely, it was very busy & staff were rushed off their feet but the service was great & the food was lovely. Cottage pie was amazing, as was the sticky toffee pud!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Green Hotel is a real find - a warm welcome awaits, with staff who are interested in helping! The food in Jock's bar was hearty, well presented and served with a smile, despite it being busy. It was also reasonably priced. Following supper we went "Backstage at the Green Hotel" to hear an accoustic set. The venue was fab with a bar, more friendly staff and great ambience - would definitely recommend it. We didn't know this place existed but will definitely be back now that we know!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twowheels2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
12.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
20.1 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Hotel

Property: The Green Hotel
Address: 2 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Hotel Golf & Leisure Resort has the benefit of 2 hotels which are located across the road from each other - The Green Hotel and the Windlestrae Hotel with our golf courses right on our doorstep. Our Resort, with two parkland golf courses, the Bruce & the Montgomery, 3 restaurants, leisure & spa which has a 20m indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna and the Boathouse on Loch Leven. Alternatively try fishing on Loch Leven, a boat trip to Castle Island or walk along the Natural Trail. Afterwards relax in our Jock's bar with a tasty dinner or a glass of chilled wine and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Kinross
The Green Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing