We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shooting themselves in the foot”
Review of Windlestrae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windlestrae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Having stayed at The sister Green Hotel we gave this a whirl .. Lots of positives ... large clean rooms ...relaxing gardens ...generally pleasant staff and given its a wee bit cheaper than across the road would have received high mark if not for the breakfast experience . Staff were two young girls. No welcome ... no enquiry if we wanted tea' /coffee ... no introduction to the buffet lay out or what was on offer (nothing much as it turned out) . The hot trays were half empty .. no eggs ..people waiting .. no yoghurts and lots of plates devoid of food ... at 9 am . We had to ask for coffee and the staff were too involved in clearing up .... and chatting to concern themselves with guests!!! ... A very poor example of Scottish hospitality and it would not have taken much for someone to sort out... Still ,overall it was a good experience and it was only the breakfast that let them down

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowserd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Windlestrae Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 555 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few years ago. We booked again as my father was greeting married in kinross. This hotel is very good value for money. We arrived at 9pm and everything was great fro. The booking in to the room we were given. The room was a family room and was very large. Next morning we went for breakfast and this was fantastic only grumble is they have taken the haggis off from when the last time we visited. We then went for a swim before the wedding, I love this pool and spa pool.
I only have one more little grumble, no children allowed in the bar after 8pm. I would agree with this if they had alternative room for you to sit in. We had to sit in the corridor opposite the reception.
I would book into this hotel as you can not beat this for value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstybrown94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Spent a weekend here when we were away with friends,the rooms were spacious and comfortable
The pool,steamroom were very good and not too busy.we only went bed and breakfast,service on the first morning was slow and we had to wait for cooked food coming from the kitchen,but the second morning was a lot better.overall it was value for money and would come back again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13Gdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Just leaving windlestrae after a short two night break with wife and child. Stayed in room 400 which had a lovely firm double bed and a single for child- and room was still big enough.

Had use of the great 20m pool which during late afternoon was quiet. Used the jocks bar in the Green hotel for food which was of good quality and decent service.

Stayed here quite a few times over the years and makes for a easy break in relaxing environment- good choice of eateries in the resort that cater for children through the day. Also great value very reasonable for what is on offer- highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank bhunter1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Wyndlestrae along with 9 other Lady golfers. We had a fantastic time, playing both courses at the hotel then travelling to Thornton on our 3rd day. The courses are very well established and the mature shrubs and trees lining the fairways give a secluded feeling, very relaxing. Food in every respect was of good quality and the breakfast selection was excellent. The club storage facility was particularly appreciated, not having to haul them upstairs or risk leaving them in the car. Staff very pleasant and welcoming. Prices very reasonable and rooms of a good standard, although very warm! We would certainly come back.

Room Tip: Ask about air con, we didnt have any and it was v warm
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alnwick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here in February and I wrote a glowing report. On the strength of that, we have booked 4 rooms in June for our family visiting from Australia.On our way home from Edinburgh Airport on May 18th, we stopped for a quick meal and went to the bar. No complaints about food or service but there was a large tear in one of the sofas and the exit door near the toilets is in a disgraceful state and badly needs painting. We knew that some areas of the hotel are a little tired but this was a big disappointment. The refurbishment of the bedrooms is excellent so hopefully these details will be dealt with soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A nice hotel and lovey rooms. Perfect for a quiet trip away. The spa facilities were great but you have to take your own robe. The restaurants in both hotels were good and not too pricey.
Breakfast was lovely and a great variety of food.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room 203 which was nice but the view wasn't great.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
283 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windlestrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: $78 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing