We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Windlestrae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windlestrae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Windlestrae using a groupon deal for dinner, bed, breakfast and a 30 minute treatment. From calling to make the reservation things seemed disorganised, I was informed that my chosen dates, and my alternative dates were unavailable, then the assistant told me that a member of the reservation team would call me back the next day, they never did however, but when I called back I was able to book for the weeken we first wanted which was great. They took my groupon code etc. The week before we were due to arrive I emailed to enquire about reservations for dinner and our treatments, I assumed there'd be slots reserved for guests using packages that include treatments, but they could only offer 10am which wasn't any good to us as check in isn't until 2pm and we had kids to drop off in the morning. They did offer a round of golf or use of facilities on an alternative date however by way of compensation as we had paid for a deal including a treatment each. We also received a chilled bottle of wine in our room which was a lovely touch and the staff were all very polite and helpful.

The hotel looks a little run down from the outside, the windows need cleaned and the paintwork touched up, but it seems to be getting renovated, and from the standard of our room I'd say it will be lovely once it's all finished. Our room was warm, modern and comfortable. The only things letting it down was the 2 bathroom spot lights which didn't work and the huge cobwebs in the corner near the window which we removed ourselves.

We ate in monty's restaurant which was lovely, the food was fantastic and the staff were attentive. We'd go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolakube70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    208
    101
    43
    31
See reviews for
76
247
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here on a spa weekend given as a xmas gift,brilliant leisure facilities good pool,the beauty treatments were awsome and staff within beauty were very friendly and polite,Hotel is being refurbished just now which has caused some (teething problems) but was dealt with by very effient staff,we will return,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary and my wife's birthday on the 26th of February 2013. We had a package deal with two massages, dinner and breakfast included. We really received more than what we paid for. The staff were excellent all through our stay. Our dinner comprised of pizzas salad, pizzabread and steak which were done to a high standard. All the compliments to the chef. Jemma was our "masseuse". She was friendly, and professional. And to put the cherry on the cake, my wife received a "happy birthday card" from all the staff. Thank you to the staff at the reception desk. You are an asset to the Green Hotel! In general, thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality and making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Choose room 304!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have been to this hotel on several occasions usually on a deal with Groupon or KGB and have never been disappointed,the staff are very friendly and the food is very good,nothing seems a bother.the fact that we have been several times speaks volumes in itself as if it's not right then we would not go back.the leisure facilities are and the pool are usually pretty quiet which is the way I like it,as we can just relax and chill out.Overall I would recommend this hotel if you wanted a nice few days to relax.there is also the Green Hotel across the road which is also part of it,but you have to walk across the road to the leisure facilities at the WindleStrae.there are a couple of nice Restaraunts in the town to have a meal in also.I think you would enjoy it.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room over looking the pool as all you will see is the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie_10Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Sheila and I arrived here on Sunday for a one night stay on a Wowcher coupon, not sure what to expect, actually the deal sounded too good to be true.On the Monday, as we checked out we agreed we had just had the best time thanks mainly to the attentive, smiley, helpful staff, in the hotel, the leisure area and the beauty facility. We are determined to return. Must mention the food, cannot fault the evening meal or the breakfast AND we both love our food which means we can be hyper-critical on occasions. Thank you to all, see you soon. Almost forgot their sister hotel, the Greens where we lunched on Sunday afternoon - great food and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I used the hotel to hold a 1 day workshop and found it to be a great venue. it's very close to the motorway and less than an hour from Edinburgh airport. The facilities were good and Stephen was very attentive. A good hot and cold buffet was served and water etc was topped up when needed ( pet hate of mine ! ). All in all a good choice and would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougiedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Received a spa day and overnight for a birthday treat. Entrance to hotel was badly flooded on our arrival, when we asked about this we were told it was always like that and we would "just have to paddle". Pool and spa areas were a bit sad, changing area had three lights out and was a bit smelly. My daughter also managed to slip and get one of her feet stuck in the drains. The member of staff Angus apologised and said they should have been screwed down, he would see to it. However on our departure they remained unsecured. This area definitely needed upgrading and did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopyLouScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
12.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windlestrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Property: Windlestrae Hotel
Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing