We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 days we wont forget”
Review of Windlestrae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windlestrae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The initial idea was to stay 4 days, but we had such a wonderful impression that we decided to stay eifht. Andreea Datcu should be chosen the most graceful recepcionist year 2012 , She sure made us feel like being taken care of, did the impossible to make our 30 th anniversary vacation the best u could get....the hotel is impecable, swimming pool, sauna, golf, huge bedrooms, TV with the best definition u can find, a restaurant with a diligent chef,Steven Irish in the pub was diligent and inteligent, ...actually every single person that we were in touch belonging to the hotel couldnt be better......Finally the price....cant beat that..location, price, people....where we in paradise?.From the hotel, steps away from the entrance there are plenty of buses to st andrews, perth, glasgow, aberdeen,sterling...u dont need to rent a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anibal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 567 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went to the Windelstrae for a Spa day. I was looking forward to getting my robe on a wandering about, going for a swim, a few treatments, sport of lunch, more swimming etc. Sadly this is not possible.

However, the swimming pool is lovely as is the jacuzzi. The steam room and sauna could be doing with a re vamp.

lunch was lovely as was the treatments.

would go back

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank fionafaefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very Nice Hotel very friendly staff from setting foot in the door I was met with a very smilly Receptionist. Room very comfy looked like it had just had an overhaul.
Good food although a bit on the expencive side but very nice with good restaurant staff
I had to stay at this hotel due to my usual one putting there room rates up and having stayed with them for over 3 years were not prepared to to offer anything so there loss and this hotels gain as I will be staying with them next time I am in the area.

The only down side I could find was when eating in the restaurant the cutlery at my table was still dirty not polished had water marks on it but the food excellant very good Scotish breakfast although buffet style very hot and nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice hotel. Fabulous bar staff very friendly chatty and approachable. Food good. Breakfast in bed prompt hot and very nice. In ? Newer room. Needs a bit of attention to detail. Pink carpet poorly hung beige curtains no window blinds dark wood doors etc light wood furniture. Bathroom floor orange Lino. Not very modern but very clean. Reception poorly manned. Leisure facilities good but again no one on reception for advice etc. all in all nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Windlestrae in September and we were very impressed with the service from all members of staff. We used the leisure facilities and had treatments at the Beauty Room. All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and genuinely made you feel like they had time to chat to you. The bar staff and restaurant staff were attentive and despite having worked long shifts the previous day were still cheerful and welcoming the following morning.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel was easy to find. An enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here on Thursday 20th September, it is a lovely hotel the staff we couldn't fault really friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and clean although a bit dated, it had everything in that we needed, tea and coffee, trouser press and toiletries. Our dinner on the night was lovely we really enjoyed it, the breakfast on the morning had everything you could of wanted, fruit, cereal and a hearty scottish breakfast.
We never used the leisure facilities as we hadn't much time, but had used them on a previous occasin when we stayed at the sister hotel over the road and couldn't find fault a lovely pool, gym, or sauna. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We live not too far from the Windelstrae but chose to say over for a couple of nights for a family wedding.
From reception to bar through restaurant and housekeeping staff anyone we bumped into was genuinely friendly and helpful and the rest of our group all had the same experience.
It's refreshing to find a place who invest enough time in their staff to make them proud to be working there!
The hotel is straightforward and well priced for the facilities on offer (golf courses, swimming pool gym, choice of restaurants etc).

Room Tip: The hotel is (quietly) being refurbished - the newer rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
292 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
583 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windlestrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: $69 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing