We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch grub”
Review of Grouse and Claret

Grouse and Claret
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch grub”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

First visit in several years but the Grousr and Calret is living up to its trip advisor award. Perfect from meeting and greeting all the way to the goodbye's. Really friendly, brilliant atmoshpere, loevely views, and food just out of this world. Excellent all round.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    35
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotlandwell
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Special occasion at a special place”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were so excited to be going to the Grouse & Claret as we had heard that it was a 'special' place and as soon as we were dropped off by our taxi after a short drive down the lane to the restaurant we realised that surrounded by countryside and fishing lochans it would be a good night, given the setting. More good news was the friendly welcome and great service from the beginning. I was a bit cheeky in asking for two glasses only of champagne but that was no problem and as we digested our nibbles with a glass of champers we knew were in for a special place. As this is a family run restaurant, the attention to detail was just so relaxed and we were made to feel at home. The best was yet to come as the meal was so good and the views out of the restaurant accompanied the meal. After the meal we were also shown the accommodation in the grounds that also was very well decorated and a high standard of finish. Definitely a place to revisit but only for special occasions on our budget but it still was good value for money. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JockstarScotlandwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, friendly and relaxed”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a lovely family meal here recently. Three generations celebrating birthdays across the ages. Really felt welcomed and enjoyed the lovely comfy seating area as we made our choices. offered nice selection of canapes along with our pre meal drinks. Staff were friendly and efficient and the food was great. Cheese souffle is recommended. Food was so good we couldn't resist have a taste of each others! Lovely setting at any time of year. Well worth a visit again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMS2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Friendly, relaxed and great food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just had Fathers day sunday lunch here and it was a lovely experience. Warm and friendly atmosphere and the food was delicious. Would be a perfect wedding venue with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. Will definitely be going again and would recommend to anyone who enjoys good food in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraCamer0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family meal at Grouse and Claret”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Recently visited the Grouse and Claret for a family meal. Very impressed with not only the quality of food, but also the quality of service and overall experience. It was lovely to be able to relax and choose our food from the comfort of a separate room and the nibbles and canapes were a welcome addition. From the owner through to all the staff, the quality of service was excellent and we will certainly be returning in the not too distant future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grouse and Claret also viewed

Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Milnathort, Kinross
 
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing