We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not be back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe 98 - CLOSED

Cafe 98
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Contemporary, Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Milnathort, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will not be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Over bearing sarcastic service with below average food. If its not on the menu don't ask for it and if you like a link sausage this is not the place for you as they only serve square. Very unaccommodating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AlisonBayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelty, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect place for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This wee restaurant on Kinross high street was a favourite haunt of my late mum Ethel - the staff were wonderful to her and I will always be grateful to them for how well they cared for her. They would pop over with her lunch for her when she couldnt get out and she just had to lift the phone if she wanted something. I have often had lunch in there with family and friends - great service - lovely staff - nice and clean - lovely home baking and tasty home made soup, toasties etc. Well worth a visit if you are in Kinross during the day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant Cafe and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have visited the cafe on several diffrent occasions. Amazing atmosphere and great service. The owner has a friendly happy approch which is a must. Great customer service from all the staff in the cafe. The food was superb aswell!! Everything is clean and has a welcoming smell the minute you walk in!! I recomend Cafe 98 to many people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great valve for fab breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Visited cafe as recommended by member I met in Leisure club at nearby Windlestrae hotel as not happy with hotel. Had a great breakfast for great value at a third the price of hotel.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank CABax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Typical lunchtime food available like sandwiches and paninis at a good price.

Good & friendly service but the last time we visited, my coronation chicken was more like curried chicken and I asked for crisps rather than salad but it came with salad. We also got some fizzy canned juice which was put into glasses which smelt disgusting. Sorry but I won't be returning any time soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MonMon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 98 also viewed

Milnathort, Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing