We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor food”
Review of Thistle Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thistle Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Kinross B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Didn't actually stay in the hotel but my wife, mother in law and sister in law ate here on the evening of 4th Nov 2011 and reported that the food was worse than average, and the service was very poor but the bill was very hefty, nothing you particularly you could put your finger on but just not good.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upstandingscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for Thistle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

This was our second trip to this hotel in the last year where i forgot to do a review the last time so i will just review this visit.
We arrived around 4pm and we had booked through groupon who give you a voucher for your stay, however the young guy at the desk did not know anything about this but this wasnt a problem and we were allocated room 6 whichs was a converted attic room. It comprised of 2 single beds zipped together in one room and 2 singles in another room with no door seperation. It had a shower room and seperate toilet which seemed like an after thought stuck at the end of the room with the single beds, totally bad idea, it also had a folding door which did not close which is quite embarressing as you can understand.
The main room however was ok, it had sky tv with plenty tea, coffee and buscuits supplied, but as i tried to open the windows the curtain rail fell off.
Dinner was included in our deal in the american themed restuarant, the menu was small which is ok , we ordered bruschetta and what we got was a huge portion big enough for a main but it was too salty, the mains were good but again too salty ,on the whole it was good.
Breakfast was a big dissapointment, it was a small buffet where you had fried eggs which were cooked 2 hours previously and lukewarm bacon and sausage with 6 greasy mushrooms left for 2 of us, very poor show.
It is unlikely we will be back, the young staff were very friendly and smiley but no sign of management which is lucky for them as i would have sued them for my finger being jammed in toilet door in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed here just one night as a stop over, heading up north. Our original plans had fallen through and we made a very quick booking on late rooms.
We were very surprised with how lovely the room was lots of really nice touches, sky TV, local toiletries, biscuits and a hair dryer. The bathroom was really nice with a shower over the bath and a heated towel rail with lots of fluffy white towels. The room was really clean and had good furnishing, every thing seamed new and freshly decorated.
We didn’t eat dinner at the hotel but the bar/ restaurant was very busy with people eating we did have drinks and thought the atmosphere was really nice, candles on the tables really friendly staff, it was generally quite.
We were asked what time we would like breakfast, the breakfast was good full Scottish with loads of toast. Good value for the price of the room.
We stayed on a Saturday night which may have had bearing on the noise we heard from the bar, didn’t hear much early on but you could here voices and the beat from the juke box, this stopped around midnight , but did disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarinersTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

The trip started a little poorly in that the hotel wasn't aware of the room configuration we had been offered by Laterooms so two ladies were given a king size bedded room. We were told on arrival that this would be sorted out by the manager "later". We had arrived at about 4.30pm. At 6.30pm I went down to the bar to find the manager as I wanted to get changed etc for dinner. We were given another room so ended up with one king sized room and one single room. I then went to have a shower before dinner but the shower in the king sized room didn't work so I visited the other room.

We liked the fact that the TVs had Dvd players and we borrowed Mamma Mia from the library and watched it. However, we then didn't enjoy a good nights sleep due to the noise from the bar below. It was very loud and noisy until 1am and we didn't get to sleep until 2am.

Breakfast times have to be pre-booked so we had asked for breakfast at 9.30am. We arrived on time but breakfast did not arrive until10.30am. We were not made aware of the delay. When the breakfast did arrive the sausage was not cooked in the middle, the black pudding was barely cooked as was the haggis so all we could eat was bacon, egg and beans.

The rooms were a pleasant surprise but the service let this hotel down and the noise meant we were more tired the next day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InvernessTourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinross hotels
1.3 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
774 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
1.5 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
30 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burnbank Kinross
Burnbank Kinross
#1 of 10 in Kinross
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hotel

Address: 25 New Road | Milnathort, Kinross KY13 9XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinross
Price Range: $71 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Thistle Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing