We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, friendly service, scenic surroundings.”

Loch Leven's Larder
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Kinross
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Loch Leven’s Larder, is a family run farm, restaurant, deli and retail shop situated three miles from Kinross – in the heart of Perthshire, easily accessible from Edinburgh, Perth and Dundee.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service, scenic surroundings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We called in for morning coffee and fruit tart the coffees and pastry was delicious. Very quiet which is unusual but the heavy rain had only just cleared. The cafe has a lovely light and airy feel. The shop sells fresh farm produce also gifts, cards and some clothing. There are tables outside overlooking Loch Leven and there is a children's play area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grey236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLLKinross, Owner at Loch Leven's Larder, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments, which I have passed on to our staff. It’s great to here that you enjoyed your pastry and your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

We welcome any positive or negative feedback and thank you for taking the time to Trip Advisor us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    201
    110
    70
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First class facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived quite early to have a coffee before setting off to walk round Loch Leven and there were only a few cars in the car park but quite a number of breakfasters. What a superb facility! a great café, a very good Deli and a shop that could keep most that way inclined, happy for ages. But, the icing on the cake (which was very good) is that view. The property has been very thoughtfully situated to make the most of these fabulous views. The staff were helpful and friendly. We left our car, had our walk and returned for more food as the calories had been substantially depleted during the 20K walk. More food - beautiful scones with cream jam etc - just to replace the lost calories, a browse and a few purchases later we departed from a fairly full car park.
Locals and visitors alike are very lucky to have such a high quality facility so close to the popular heritage trail.
I would happily just come to the larder to browse and eat. Well done to the owners and their staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reelandjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLLKinross, Owner at Loch Leven's Larder, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Wow – we are blushing! Thank you for your comments, which I have passed on to our staff. It’s great to here that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

We welcome any positive or negative feedback and thank you for taking the time to Trip Advisor us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We often visit for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea and really enjoy the quality of the food. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Well done Liz, Jackie, Aileen, Catherine and all the others, you make our visits very enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank RonRar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLLKinross, Owner at Loch Leven's Larder, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments, which I have passed on to our staff. It’s great to here that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

We welcome any positive or negative feedback and thank you for taking the time to Trip Advisor us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Fantastic shop great cafe great views and great food fab outside area for children and the pods looked amazing will definitely visit again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FuzzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLLKinross, Owner at Loch Leven's Larder, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments, it’s great to here that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

We welcome any positive or negative feedback and thank you for taking the time to Trip Advisor us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went for lunch with a couple of friends last week.As it was sunny,we ate outside.The staff were very pleasant and mannerly.Was a bit disappointed with the choice of menu,altho what we had we enjoyed.Had earlier visited the shop and bought a cheese loave and meringues.Tbh,they looked better than they tasted.The list of vegetables that were advertised looked impressive,pity that many weren't available.Certainly a lovely setting but still disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mentaljas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLLKinross, Owner at Loch Leven's Larder, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I’m glad to hear that our staff were pleasant and that you enjoyed your food. We have a wide range of customers and strive to provide a menu that offers something for everyone, with some more unusual options that are not available elsewhere. Our vegetable selection changes daily so we note the price details of everything that we offer on our board to ensure that this information is always readily available to customers but I am sorry if this left you feeling disappointed with our offering.

I’m also concerned to hear that you were unsatisfied by the produce you bought with us. If you would like to discuss this further, please call me on 01592 841000 or email us at emma@lochlevenslarder.com. We have had some great feedback from customers who regularly purchase our bread and meringues and I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.

We welcome any positive or negative feedback and thank you for taking the time to Trip Advisor us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Leven's Larder also viewed

Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Milnathort, Kinross
 

Been to Loch Leven's Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing