We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and very spacious house with...”
other travelers have booked this property
Balgedie House with the Lomond Hills behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balgedie House with the Lomond Hills behind
Looking across the gardens to Loch Leven There is a 5 ring gas hob, a wall mounted electric oven, 2 dishwashers & many other mod cons.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Balgedie House with the Lomond Hills behind
Looking across the gardens to Loch Leven
There is a 5 ring gas hob, a wall mounted electric oven, 2 dishwashers & many other mod cons.
A view from Balgedie House to Loch Leven
The kitchen with large oak dining table & kitchen island
The table can seat 12 comfortably and can be extended to seat 16
There is a lovely log burning stove in the kitchen.
The sitting room has wonderful views out to the Loch
There is a large wood burning stove & large sofas to relax in.
The quiet study with a beautiful antique desk and free wifi.
The downstairs loo!
The master bedroom with an ensuite, walk in wardrobe & a window looking out towards the Loch.
All the beds are made by Hypnos, the same company who supplies the Queen!
The second main bedroom also with exceptional views of the Loch & an ensuite.
Superking luxury bed and bedding
Another superking double bed.
A twin bedroom
A twin bedroom
A twin bedroom
The master ensuite with walkin shower, double vanity unit and roll top bath.
The shower room
The family bathroom
Another ensuite bathroom
Looking up to the House from the garden
A view of the back of the house from the garden
Looking south east over the garden towards the Loch
From the front door of the house looking over the garden, towards the Loch
The back garden gate that leads to the farm track and up to the hills
From the farm track leading towards Loch Leven, looking back to the House
The front door!
The back garden, with the hedged 'secret garden' - perfect for children to play in and explore!
Burleigh Sands is a lovely beach on the Loch, just 5 mins away. Perfect for paddling & sand castles!
Kinnesswood, our local village, won Keep Scotland Beautiful's best small village award many times.
The area is great for outdoor pursuit lovers -
there's walking, cycling, golf, gliders & fishing.
The sunsets and sunrises over the Loch are spectacular. This was a taken on an evening in November.
The bird life is wonderful. Much can be seen in the garden & RSPB Vane Farm is only 5 mins away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Kinross, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amymac25
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful and very spacious house with spectacular views - pet friendly!”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Absolutely loved everything about Balgedie House! Extremely spacious and beautiful house that very comfortably sleeps 12 (plenty of space to accommodate additional people round the dinner table etc if you were to take the cottage also). I particularly liked how well equipped the kitchen was with everything you could possibly need. The garden and views are spectacular and it was great to be able to take our dog! Shona that runs the bookings and Mary the housekeeper were both so helpful and the chocolates and bubbly on our arrival was a lovely touch. If you are taking a dog, the Boat House at Loch Leven is very dog friendly! Can't wait to book another trip to Balgedie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Dear Amy, thank you so much for such a wonderful and generous review! I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Balgedie - and your dog did too! Please keep in touch as we'd love to welcome you all back again. Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassado...
1 review
“Fabulous house in a great location for a group get together”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We rented Balgedie House between Thursday 21st September and Tuesday 26th September 2017 for a family get together to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. We were met by the housekeeper, Mary, who showed around the accommodation which had been set out to suit 8 adults and 7 grandchildren aged between 2 year and 10 as we had previously requested. We found the house perfect from the well equipped kitchen to the sumptuous bedrooms and public rooms. The play/family room was a big hit and was well stocked with a variety of games to suit all ages. The expansive grounds were terrific and provided the children with a safe area in which to explore and play; so much so that we did not feel the need to visit the nearby Loch Leven Larder or the many walks around and near Loch Leven itself. We cannot praise Shona and Charlie enough for their idea in providing such a lovely self catering establishment which, in our opinion, was far better than a hotel. We are so glad that we found Balgedie House and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a group or family get together. We will certainly be considering Balgedie for future milestone family occasions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2017
Thank you, Julie, for such an incredibly lovely review! I am so thrilled you all had such a great time, inside and out! And to hear that you thought it was better than a hotel is wonderful! Thank you for coming and please do come back again as we'd love to have you! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jondarwen
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We rented Balgedie House for my mother in laws 60th birthday celebrations and the place was a delight. Large and roomy so we didn't all feel on top of each other, and tastefully modernised to keep the character of the house but with modern styling. All in all, highly recommended if you're looking for a getaway retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
I'm so pleased to hear the House worked so well for the big family birthday celebration and get together and that you all had a great time. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Much appreciated. We do hope you'll all come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“5* Luxury accommodation in beautiful Scottish setting!”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house is beautifully decorated and brilliantly set out for a big family gathering. Everything newly fitted so works and very clean. Beds extremely comfortable, super king double in our room - I am very hard to please and I slept very well. Aside from this being a beautiful house to be inside, the views are truly spectacular. I grew up in Scotland so quite hard to please in this department as well and I found myself transfixed by the changing light and views over the course of the day. A very special place and we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2017
Thank you so much for such a great review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and loved the views so much! We would love to have you all back again - just let us know when! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice L
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We took a family vacation to Balgedie House at the end of May this year. We LOVED it! Everything is wonderful--the house itself is old and stately, but it has been completely modernized inside and the decorating/decor is cozy and beautiful. Mary, the housekeeper, met us and showed us around. She couldn't have been more welcoming. She had the baby cot already set up for us, along with a changing mat and a baby tub. To complete the hospitality, there was a goodie basket full of essential baby items as well as some wine and a food goodie basket for the adults. We certainly felt welcomed and cared for! The house itself is perfect for a large group or multiple families. For a few days, it was just the two of us and our baby. Then we had the grandparents and brother with his family of four arrive as well as some friends. Everyone had plenty of space and no one was on top of each other. The kitchen is fully stocked with plenty of utensils and cutlery/plates,etc. It's very spacious with a large table that fit everyone and there are two dishwashers, which is awesome for large groups. There's a slow cooker and a food blender, so I could even make my own baby food for the week. There's a TV room and another living room, as well as a small study, so there were plenty of places to hang out or escape/work in as necessary. The grounds are beautiful and the view of Loch Leven and the surrounding countryside is amazing. We highly recommend Balgedie House--you will not be disappointed! We've already been in touch to book for next year. Also--the owner, Shona, was very accessible and checked on us via e-mail throughout our stay to make sure we had everything we needed and was very helpful with suggestions on things to do/see.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Alice, I'm so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and all worked out so well for everyone - big and small! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a fabulous review! It was lovely to have you and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back next year! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareW_08...
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect country retreat, for all ages!”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Balgedie House is amazing! It is surrounded by well kept gardens and countryside, with beautiful views over the Loch. The house has been decorated and finished to a high standard and feels luxurious, comfortable and welcoming all in one! The whole house was immaculate with thoughtful touches throughout including fresh flowers, wine and biscuits.
The kitchen is SO well equipped and great for cooking for a large group/socialising. Bedrooms were peaceful, with excellent beds and there were enough bathrooms/en-suites to keep everyone happy (master bathroom is incredible!). There were 11 adults in our group and we don't have a bad word to say between us about our stay, it was perfect.
Shona was very helpful and easily contactable before and after our stay. She answered all questions and provided everything we needed to know about the house/area. She has thought about every aspect of a great place to stay.
We had a fantastic weekend at Balgedie and I would not hesitate in booking again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Dear Clare, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Balgedie House. I do hope that you will come back again, we'd love to have you! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairi M
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We rented the house to celebrate a birthday with all the family and had a wonderful time. The house was beautiful and spacious and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Fresh flowers in all the bedroooms and public rooms and goodies hamper were a very welcoming touch.The standard of decor, furniture, fittings and equipment was excellent without giving the house an intimidating feel.
Finally the house had stunning views over the Loch and sat in lovely gardens.
We would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Dear Mairi, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased to hear you had a happy birthday weekend with your family. Please do come again, whether for another special occasion or simply to have a relaxing break! We'd love to have you back! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing