We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Local”
Review of The Muirs Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Muirs Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Been loads of times...highly recommended..food, service, ambience and of course the prosecco all great! Black pudding (nearly as good as Cockburns!!!) starter brilliant all the mains we've had excellent and the crepe with ice cream & sticky toffee sauce yummy! Thank you Willie, Lynn, James, Emma and all the staff

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank controlfreak57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had meal on Valentine's night in this lovely cosy little restaurant. Was not planned, but as weather was horrendous, and was passing, decided to chance our luck. A very good decision!!
Staff were courteous, friendly, and very, very helpful, they even took our wet coats, as we entered, a rare occurrence these days, but, a very simple, but nice touch.
Had pate to start, lovely big slab, wrapped in smoked bacon, with side salad and 2 chunky, home made oatcakes, very nice indeed.
For main, I decided on "fish supper", which consisted of a large, fresh, flaky haddock, encases in crunchy batter, presented in metal basket, on top of "real" rustic chips, with small bowl of pea puree on the side. It was delicious, highly recommended.
Partner had steak pie, which was also excellent, lots, of succulent steak pieces, accompanied by local fresh vegetables, and the aforementioned chips.
No room left for sweet, but, there was a good choice of hot and cold puddings, which, if you had the room, would warm the cockles on a cold winter evening.
I will certainly return, can't praise the whole experience highly enough

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Visited "The Muirs" on a Sat night. It was quiet when we first went in. Food was nice but my husband and I felt that the main course portions were on the small side. Also felt that the service was poor probably due to how busy they were and understaffed. A shame really as it was an enjoyable meal but was let down by service. We sat for about 15 minutes before anyone came to get sweet order and I had to get a waitresses attention in the end to order.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kAREN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

can't wait to try the food the next time I'm home. :)I got a great welcome the minute I walked in the door! Especially from Emma the waitress. 4 fantastic rooms up stairs great for a wee night away with the wife & kids in kinross

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Hearing that there are new owners at The Muirs I decided to try it out for a business lunch. We had a very friendly welcome and enjoyed a nice lunch. It is a nice traditional style Inn with a seperate bar and restaurant. The food was tasty and of good quality and reasonably priced. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Visited The Muirs Inn on Saturday 1st Feb 2014, it was a 630pm sitting as they prefer (quite rightly) to have families with young children in early, the food, service and atmosphere were excellent and without doubt we will return, nice to have some professional service.........

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Upstandingscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Under new management we gave the restaurant a try for an early tea having decided against our usual favourite of The Kirklands. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised! Lovely restaurant, good menu and attentive staff.

We will definitely return. Fantastic to see somewhere new in town taking the time to prepare good menus and tasty food at reasonable prices. A good second to Kirklands and certainly a better standard on the food served at The Green Hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Valefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinross hotels
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
0.3 mi away
Burnbank Kinross
Burnbank Kinross
#1 of 10 in Kinross
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Roxburghe Guest House
#9 of 10 in Kinross
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muirs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muirs Inn

Address: 49 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Muirs Hotel Kinross
The Muirs Inn Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing