We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change of Ownership has done it justice.”
Review of The Muirs Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Muirs Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Muirs Inn have been recently taken over by Lynn & Willie McCord. I was awaiting The Muirs to reopen as it's a drop in spot travelling from office to Glasgow on the weekends. Not knowing how it was going to be was somewhat daunting, managed to park on the side of the street beside it, note there is limited parking spaces (but don't let that put you off)

Went into the bar intially to have a little poke around, nice warm atmosphere, a real log fire, something which is quite a rarity nowadays, there's everything you need in the bar, TV, Jukebox, Pool Table.

There is a nice patio area outside, which I'm sure will look and be nice to sit in during Summer months, not so much in a very cold January!!!

Went into the restaurant for lunch and was greeted by Lynn. Such a nice warm welcome, which makes a change from most of the chain hotels in the surrounding area. We sat down for lunch, had a trio of mini burgers between us, 1 Venison, 1 Pork, 1 Beef. Nice as a starter for 1 or 2 depending on how hungry you are.

Main course for me was the Chicken Supreme with Herb & Garlic mousse, chicken was cooked to perfection. My partner has Beef & Haggis Olives, they certainly looked "beefy" nice big and plump. Couple of sides of fries each which was just as nice.

After paying the bill, Lynn asked if we would like a tour, forgot The Muirs had rooms!

Lynn gave us a tour of The Muirs, including the rooms, which were very spacious and well decorated, especially being above a pub. Extremely surprised. Word to note, the stairs leading up to the rooms are a bit steep.

Overall very impressed with the new owners and new staff, food was good. Excellent for a meal/drink or stay over.

Please note - This has only recently been taken over by new owners (start of December I am led to believe) I would disregard other reviews before this point.

Will Return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for The Muirs Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Not having been to the Muirs for years and looking in with our visitors for lunch, what a pleasant surprise! Were directed to restaurant,after going into bar,by a pleasant young lady. Meeted and seated by another friendly professional member of staff. Food ordered was enjoyed by all. One burger, then Haddock three ways, one breaded, one battered and one with potato and a poached egg. Well presented and obviously fresh fish. The chips were good too.Will definitely return possibly for dinner. Maybe Haddock three ways could be on a dinner menu!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stopped here for lunch by chance what a brill find. For starters I had goat cheese and caramaliesed onion tart my friends had stornaway blackpudding with poach egg for the main I had fish and chips and my husband had steak pie both where very good. Will be back for def.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a real treat for all of Kinross to have Willie take over the excellent Muirs Inn. Great staff and new menu. Had an enjoyable lunch, served by the lovely Emma over Christmas. Fabulous menu with first class chef at the helm. This outstanding establishment can only go from strength to strength. Will be back very soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboyandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were advised to visit the Muirs Inn as it had new owners, and colleagues had said that the food was great. We were not disappointed and nor were the guests that we had invited for lunch. Would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for nice food in a warm, clean and inviting environment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank peboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our first visit since new hosts took over last week. Went out to try this inn again. It has been taken over by a hotelier with more than forty years in the trade,so between us we have over eighty years experience . Willie and his team are marketing the inn as a place to drink eat and relax. More up market than bar food but not trying to compete with the local top end establishments . I won't go into to much detail about the food in my first review. Just to say, from the moment we went in to when we left the welcome and service was first class. The menu is varied and portions are ample. Food is well cooked and presented. The wine list could do with more choice but it is early days. To sum up, very enjoyable evening. If you want to know anymore you will just have to go and try it yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andrew543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Four of us stayed here when cycling. The landlord and his wife were really helpful and allowed us to store our bikes in the restaurant which was closed.

The rooms are really nice with one of them being a suite.

Breakfast was continental left outside the rooms which was fine but it was a bit disappointing that we could not have an evening meal.

The bar is warm and friendly and we had a few beers while watching the football

I saw that there was a for lease board outside hope that the Inn goes from strength to strength and that food is back on the menu soon.

Room Tip: The suite is really nice and roomy
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dh20281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.4 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
30 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muirs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muirs Inn

Address: 49 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Muirs Hotel Kinross
The Muirs Inn Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing