We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lerwick Visit Scotland Information Centre
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very helpful plus nice gifts

The Information Centre is staffed by very nice, very knowledgeable people. They were able to help... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
amgundry2018
,
Long Beach, California
Lerwick Tourist Information Centre

If you want to find out about anything on the Shetland Island and Fair Isle, then thios is the... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
rphood2004
,
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Read all 176 reviews
  
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
116
36
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
36
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tourist office very helpful staff for sale nice souvenirs places to visit cruise ship great advice street map bus timetables first stop a small gift shop other islands wide range free wifi on display leaflet gifts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Information Centre is staffed by very nice, very knowledgeable people. They were able to help us with our many questions and helped to de-mystify the inter-island ferry schedule. In addition to information, the Centre has an amazing assortment of Scotish and Shetland products from soaps to books, from woolen hats to tartan scarves and Celtic pins. Excellent first stop in Lerwick.

1  Thank amgundry2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

If you want to find out about anything on the Shetland Island and Fair Isle, then thios is the place to come to. The Staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. There is so much information available and the staff are always there to help with travel plane with time tables for the busses and ferries all over the Island. There is also some Shetland articles for sale and there are plenty of books about the Shetland Islands,as well as maps and some postcards,

1  Thank rphood2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

They couldn't do enough for you , even wrote a lot of information down for myself and my friends . G sVe us a lot of information we didn't even know about Shetland.

Thank LexaCrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We called in at the Tourist Centre on our first day in Shetland. The two staff members we spoke to were both knowledgeable and pleasant in their attitude. We called back two or three more times to get further information and this all helped us have a memorable week in Shetland where we covered large parts of the island and saw those features which interested us most. I would definitely recommend using the Tourist Office for the booking of ferries to other islands as you then have priority over people who just turn up and hope to get on the ferry, which is often heavily in demand.

Thank Rhodri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We visited this Tourist Centre several times during our holiday in Shetland. The staff can answer any question from memory, such as why some of the streets have two names. They booked our trip up to Unst, and a sea trip, plus providing leaflets and maps from the huge range. The centre is also a good source of gifts and books. A very well designed set of leaflets covers every aspect of the islands.

Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Stopped off in Lerwick on the way back from Norway on a Fred Olsen Cruise

We caught the shuttle bus into town to explore on our own - the bus driver wasn’t particularly helpful about return times and this sadly set the tone for the day ...

We walked around the town centre and included a visit to the information centre

Unfortunately the people in the info centre, like in most of the shops / cafes etc we entered seemed disinterested - I guess because they knew a cruise ship was in town and we were only passing through?!

The staff in the info centre were chatting amongst themselves and very little effort was made to engage with us

We were interested in the locations of the TV series - but with no information forthcoming re this from the info centre, we struck out on our own

We found the small beach and nearby cottage from the TV series and the building that doubled as the police station

It’s fair to say we weren’t that impressed with Lerwick - the people weren’t friendly and were somewhat dour - the friendliest person we met was at the checkout in the supermarket!

Don’t think we’ll be back...

1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We went in to find a good place to have lunch. Only told of one option which was not a good choice. Staff did not seem interested or enthusiastic about sharing ideas on seeing their town.

Thank Moonstone07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Went into the tourist information centre and received a great welcome. Staff were so informative and so friendly. You must visit!

2  Thank _mayl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Staff seemed very reluctant to help at all. No information was volunteered and when I asked about tours they only offered one that did not suit. I was told I would have to phone private operators for more information. No attractions were suggested. On top of this, when I was desperate to sit down (I have a medical condition) the staff were unable or unwilling to help. The only two chairs in the premises had been occupied by a the same people for over an hour. They refused to move. Very disappointing visit.
.

Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

wish this would have been our first stop. I was so confused. So many ancient sites and info on the crafts and craftsman in the area. Where to get home knitted woolen goods and the best restaurants and cafes with local cuisine.

1  Thank tiredandtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews