We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and perfect location”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge. Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge.
Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Dining kitchen with double oven, gas hob, fridge, freezer and dishwasher.  Leading to lounge.
Dining kitchen leading to lounge.
Complimentary welcome pack of products provided for guests staying 4 nights or more.
Lounge with dual aspect sea views, TV with integrated DVD.
Lounge with oak, open tread staircase leading to bedrooms and bathroom.
Unrestricted sea views over lawned garden from the lounge window.
South Bedroom - king sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Large king sized bedroom with wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Bathroom with toilet, sink, corner bath and large separate shower. With sea views.
North bedroom, pictured configured as super king.  Room size 5.4m x 3.0m.
North bedroom, pictured configured as twin, with the option of another full sized single. Sea views.
View from private parking.  Guests have use of large lawned garden during their stay.
Private picnic area outside Brekka Lodge with unrestricted sea views.  Beach only 2 minute walk.
Steps and bridge to lime kilns and beach at the bottom of the garden.
Lovely, peaceful beach and lime kiln ruins below Brekka Lodge.  Just a two minute walk away.
Northern Lights from above Brekka Lodge.
Spring view from Brekka Lodge.
Wintery view from Brekka Lodge.
Seals are regular visitors to the beach.
Killer whales have become regular visitors to the shores of Shetland. Seen from Brekka Lodge lounge.
Inside Mousa Broch.  Ferry jetty to this Islands is only 5 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Scalloway Castle.  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Shetland Museum and Archives (incorporated Hays Dock Restaurant).  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
St Ninians Isle and lovely tombolo beach.  Under 10 miles from Brekka Lodge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
545duncan...
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and perfect location”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a lovely, comfortable property in a great location tucked away near a secluded bay (seals and otters at play) but very convenient for Lerwick and getting around Shetland. The owners were very flexible and friendly and the house has all the facilities you could want and was ideal for our needs.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely having you at Brekka Lodge and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevforth2
1 review
“Fantastic well equiped lodge with views to die for”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Everything you need for a self catering holiday in the amazing Shetland Islands, I would recommend searching through the drawers when you get there as it has everything you need from picnic bags to cool blocks in the freezer. It could not have been cleaner and the location is fantastic. The bedrooms are extremely large and the fittings are of the highest quality. We even saw Orcas within around 400 yds just outside the small cove which is less than 5 minutes walk away.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you and lovely having your family to stay at Brekka Lodge. A sighting of the Orcas was an added bonus.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian F
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Second time and perfect! ”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A perfect base to explore Shetland. Well appointed and spotless. The owners next door clearly put a lot of effort into the place to make it a very comfortable place to stay.

When we visit Shetland again we will stay again for sure. See all the other reviews....once visited you will be back and no finer place so did it than from Brekka

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
Thank you for your complimentary review. It was great to have your family back for a return visit. Thanks for coming all the way from Hong Kong to stay at Brekka Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lin249
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Idyllic location.
Spotless, excellently equipped lodge.
Spacious bedrooms.

I can't praise this lodge highly enough although I do feel if 8 people stayed there they might find it a bit cramped.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Thank you for your review and kind words. We agree that having 8 people would be cramped and therefore have a maximum of 6 guests allowed at Brekka Lodge. However, we recommend 4 or less to make the most of the spacious room.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S M
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The perfect place if you just want to relax, but also ideal as a base to explore the islands. The lodge is well equipped, warm and comfortable with great views. The sort of place that you want to keep secret so that you can be sure of getting back again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Your kind words are really appreciated, thank you. We enjoyed having you to stay and were delighted to be able to show you a wonderful display of the Northern Lights. We hope you can return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My third visit to Brekka Lodge - superb, as ever. Very comfortable, very clean, everything just right for a visit to the incredible Shetland Islands

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brekka Lodge in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy W
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely home away from home, can't imagine a better place to stay.”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Brekka Lodge is a extrtemely comfortable, well appointed, and beautifully located home away from home. Everything we needed was provided, including beautiful views of the sea from the house and perfect weather (weather not guaranteed). It's a short walk down to the beach where we saw seals and the lime kiln ruins. The house is just a few minutes from Lerwick in the quiet countryside. We rarely saw a vehicle on the road but frequently saw the sheep and ponies in adjacent fields. We were five adults and found Brekka Lodge an ideal place for our week's vacation. I can't wait to return to Shetland and stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the property
Liked least: Wi-fi access was spotty
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you all. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay which attending the Wool Week Festival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing