We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOVELY VIEWS, COMFORTABLE, WELL APPOINTED...”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge. Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge.
Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Dining kitchen with double oven, gas hob, fridge, freezer and dishwasher.  Leading to lounge.
Dining kitchen leading to lounge.
Complimentary welcome pack of products provided for guests staying 4 nights or more.
Lounge with dual aspect sea views, TV with integrated DVD.
Lounge with oak, open tread staircase leading to bedrooms and bathroom.
Unrestricted sea views over lawned garden from the lounge window.
South Bedroom - king sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Large king sized bedroom with wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Bathroom with toilet, sink, corner bath and large separate shower. With sea views.
North bedroom, pictured configured as super king.  Room size 5.4m x 3.0m.
North bedroom, pictured configured as twin, with the option of another full sized single. Sea views.
View from private parking.  Guests have use of large lawned garden during their stay.
Private picnic area outside Brekka Lodge with unrestricted sea views.  Beach only 2 minute walk.
Steps and bridge to lime kilns and beach at the bottom of the garden.
Lovely, peaceful beach and lime kiln ruins below Brekka Lodge.  Just a two minute walk away.
Northern Lights from above Brekka Lodge.
Spring view from Brekka Lodge.
Wintery view from Brekka Lodge.
Seals are regular visitors to the beach.
Killer whales have become regular visitors to the shores of Shetland. Seen from Brekka Lodge lounge.
Inside Mousa Broch.  Ferry jetty to this Islands is only 5 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Scalloway Castle.  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Shetland Museum and Archives (incorporated Hays Dock Restaurant).  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
St Ninians Isle and lovely tombolo beach.  Under 10 miles from Brekka Lodge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Orkney192
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“LOVELY VIEWS, COMFORTABLE, WELL APPOINTED ACCOMMODATION”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Brekka is easy to find - Sheila provided clear directions that were easy to follow. You have your own, clearly marked, parking space. Entrance hall with good space to leave shoes and coats. Well laid out kitchen with all we needed. Nice lounge with TV, books, information and the all important WiFi code!
Very good sized bedrooms with very comfortable beds, lovely bedding.
Bathroom with separate bath and shower which will keep everyone happy!
Lovely views over ruinous lime kilns and onto the sea. For bird watchers just looking out onto the garden or going for a short walk will turn up some good birds, we were treated to wren and redwings in the mornings before we went out.
Just two little gripes - would have expected bath sheets rather than the smaller bath towels. I would not recommend to anyone with small children as the lovely staircase is polished wood and I could see parents spending all their time worrying that the children could easily slide on the stairs. I did wish I had taken slippers as the stairs and laminate can be cold underfoot, but I completely understand that they are the best option to keep the lodge looking really nice as I am sure Brekka would be pretty much booked up through the season and outside of it. It is absolutely pristine, beautifully done.
Sheila is just next door if you need anything which is also great.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location with great views
Liked least: Laminate flooring
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. We always strive to improve our offering to guests and act on recommendations where possible. As a result of your review we have purchased bath sheets for Brekka Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: so clean
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Brekka Lodge, it was a pleasure having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2014
Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and really pleased that you saw the Minkie whales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warwickshire, England
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Brekka Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Brekka Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris4jul...
St Monans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent property for holiday base”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We visit Shetland every couple of years to meet up with family.We have used Brekka twice now because it is modern and spotless.The owners have evident pride in what they do.The welcome pack is a nice touch and you do not have to rush out and buy domestic essentials as most are included.
Brekka is in a lovely aspect with views all round.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We were pleased to welcome you back to Brekka Lodge and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class in every respect”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A home from home for us. This has been our 4th stay at Brekka Lodge and we have always enjoyed our return visits. Sometimes a week, sometimes a fortnight's duration. Warm, clean, and well-appointed Brekka Lodge is ideally situated for an exploration of Shetland.
Sheila and George make excellent hosts with their meticulous attention to detail.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and helpfulness of the owners.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2014
Thank you for this lovely review as our most frequent visitors. We hope to have yourself and Thea to stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing