We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour and were not disappointed in the hotel. The rooms were spotless, the beds were extremely comfortable (the best night's sleep of the tour) and the food was delicious, both breakfast and dinner. They had the best porridge ever. The hotel is a little dated but that is part of it's charm. We would definitely stay here again if we went back to Shetland.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms mean no stairs to climb but the view from some upper rooms looks over the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JimParch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Having read some of the reviews I was rather apprehensive but was booked in with a group so had no choice. However there was no evidence of damp so presumably that has been fixed. It is dated, but that is part of its charm, and apparently refurbishment is planned. Breakfast and evening meal were fine. Sirloin steak was really good. Bedroom and ensuite were clean. Parking was not an issue for us, but there's not a lot the hotel can do about that. Lift and a lounge would be good, but again an old building on the seafront will have limitations. I'd stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is scruffy, dirty, massively overpriced. Substandard quality across all sectors. Food is awful, does not serve decent coffee just powdered stuff, toast is on thin bread, breakfast orange is kept on a hot display so is warm and glasses are warm. WiFi is very patchy. Window cracked. Wallpaper hanging off and ripped. Holes in net curtains. No lift. Carpets worn and threadbare, dangerous on the stairs. How this got 3 stars is a mystery. Staff conditions for work are illegal. Not enough staff ( high turnover) due to poor conditions. Staff also admit standard is poor and they are embarrassed. Only the value range of goods are used in this hotel. It may well be acceptable for males working in the gas and oil industry who do not pay the bill, but is disgusting at £95 per night.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank thebesttaxilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Since your stay with us we have started a program of refurbishment works starting with the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel sticks to the retro theme very well.
From the lack of central heating and the lack of wifi in the rooms, all the way down to the themed decor and the carpets, it’s pure seventies. All apart from the prices, that is.
This place is in desperate need of investment, but what’s the point when they can fill the rooms at a premium rate anyway due to the lack of accommodation on Shetland at the moment?
The food has gone downhill rapidly in the months since the very promising chef left, I understand because of the owners refusing to revamp the horrible dining room.
A pretty awful establishment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YonyYamathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments. It is well worth noting that major refurbishment of the Hotel will take place later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at the Queens Hotel - please dont be put off by the dated inner furnishings - there is however no lounge for you to relax in, there is an adjacent small bar open from 11am . But the staff Michelle (reception) Gabby (waitress) and of course Trevor the barman were informative pleasant and nothing was too much effort for them .
Stayed in room 241 overlooking jetty -windows in need of replacement but never felt cold .Beds very comfortable and room cleaned every day there was no noise experienced from other residents . No lift and the further up the more narrow stairs to climb
WIFI patchy through out hotel Hotel has no parking so a drive round is part of the course but we found free places easy and nearby
Sadly we ate once in the evening and were disappointed at the standard - but could not fault the breakfasts
To be honest we would consider staying here again - stayed 5 nights
Location was good for the tourist information office

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K8fv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback from our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Held on Shetland prior to going offshore, so hotel selection purely at the hands of the oil and helicopter operators. I've stayed at the Queens before, so wasn't to disappointed to be staying there again. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent, delivered by friendly and efficient staff.

Decor and carpets are a bit tired in places, but overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments. It may be worth noting that later on this year major refurbishment has been planned for the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Bit expensive for what it offers, but that is supply and demand on the island. Oil money talks and all that. So happy to stay here on company time, but would not be my choice if I was with wife / family.
Like other comments I would reinforce the need for refurbishment of the downstairs areas.

I was on the very top floor and it was a windy night. The window and the roof creaked all night long. Single room was clean and more than met my needs. A bit of a view of the local bay.
In its favour was the full scottish breakfast I had, the scrambled eggs were by far the best I have ever had.
Location makes it easy for around the harbour area and some nice pubs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaybe_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.1 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
254 reviews
17.9 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
330 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Moorfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 24 Commercial Street, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing