We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UP Helly AA 2014” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“UP Helly AA 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at the Queens Hotel - please dont be put off by the dated inner furnishings - there is however no lounge for you to relax in, there is an adjacent small bar open from 11am . But the staff Michelle (reception) Gabby (waitress) and of course Trevor the barman were informative pleasant and nothing was too much effort for them .
Stayed in room 241 overlooking jetty -windows in need of replacement but never felt cold .Beds very comfortable and room cleaned every day there was no noise experienced from other residents . No lift and the further up the more narrow stairs to climb
WIFI patchy through out hotel Hotel has no parking so a drive round is part of the course but we found free places easy and nearby
Sadly we ate once in the evening and were disappointed at the standard - but could not fault the breakfasts
To be honest we would consider staying here again - stayed 5 nights
Location was good for the tourist information office

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K8fv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback from our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    48
    19
    16
See reviews for
9
33
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Held on Shetland prior to going offshore, so hotel selection purely at the hands of the oil and helicopter operators. I've stayed at the Queens before, so wasn't to disappointed to be staying there again. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent, delivered by friendly and efficient staff.

Decor and carpets are a bit tired in places, but overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It may be worth noting that later on this year major refurbishment has been planned for the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Bit expensive for what it offers, but that is supply and demand on the island. Oil money talks and all that. So happy to stay here on company time, but would not be my choice if I was with wife / family.
Like other comments I would reinforce the need for refurbishment of the downstairs areas.

I was on the very top floor and it was a windy night. The window and the roof creaked all night long. Single room was clean and more than met my needs. A bit of a view of the local bay.
In its favour was the full scottish breakfast I had, the scrambled eggs were by far the best I have ever had.
Location makes it easy for around the harbour area and some nice pubs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaybe_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Unfortunately, most hotels in Lerwick are terrible. A complacent attitude pervades, because they can fill the rooms at extortionate prices (relative to what you get) therefore the owners have no commercial imperative to make improvements. I usually try and get into the Kveldro, but alas it was full. The smell of damp in the communal areas is really bad. A large damp patch on the wall going up to the rooms, could surely be fixed quickly and easily. The room itself didn't smell of damp, but was small and quite a bit of juggling was required to access the wardrobe!! But it WAS clean. The bulbs were missing from the bedside lamps - which is just such a basic thing - and so annoying when you want have a read before nodding off without having to get out of bed to put the 'big light' out. The bathroom was also really small, but adequate. There is no lounge area in the hotel, so nowhere nice to sit. You have to go outside to access the bar, which we gave a wide berth to anyway. We only used the restaurant for breakfast - the cutlery had to be given a wipe - the juice glasses were dirty and the service was a bit hit and miss. The only plus is free wifi, which is available in the room - and in my room worked fine. Another potential bug bear to be aware of is there's no parking at the hotel. We had to park over by the harbour - which I suppose is okay until it's blowing a hoolie and lashing rain and you've got a fair bit of luggage to lug up the road and present yourself at reception looking like you've been dragged through a hedge backwards. I think everyone who reads these reviews and then subsequently stays in Lerwick should write to Shetland Islands Council and the MP Tavish Scott - a collective voice of complaint is required to address the dire hotel situation in Lerwick. It's really damaging to what is otherwise, a fantastic place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The damp problem has now been sorted and we hope to redecorate the reception area in the near future. Due to the location of the hotel we are unable to offer parking as space on the shoreline is limited. Whilst we have very many happy guests I know it is impossible to please all everybody all of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lerwick hotels

Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here on business at the end of October. I had read previous reviews and knew what to expect. I stayed in a single room - I've seen bigger ferret cages. But I had nice-ish view of the sea. Generally, the place is noisy at night because the bedroom doors can only be slammed shut, so you are aware of everyone coming and going. There is no doubt that the hotel is very run down, not particularly fresh and in need of unlimited TLC. The accommodation is also very expensive for such gloomy, dated and uncared bedrooms. However, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. It's weird that such a run-down hotel should have such a good restaurant. Given the location of this this establishment, it could be a stunning place. It's a shame that it has been so neglected, especially in view of the lovely staff and the good food. Would I stay there again? Not if I could possibly help it.

Room Tip: Don't book or accept a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McAlpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Refurb plans are underway at the moment and we hope to commence work shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Damp smell throughout hotel. Mould on walls of comunal areas. Dated and cramped rooms with poor cleanliness (mould in bathroom). £35/night would be more appropriate than the rip off £92/night. Owners should be ashamed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Probilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The damp problem has now been rectified and refurb plans are underway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I'm sure there is a saying about First impressions, well if you want you first impression to be an absolute stink and dampness then this is the place for you. This hotels typifies everything that is wrong with a hotel that is guaranteed 100% occupancy because of a massive influx of workers from the islands Gas plant.

I would like you to look at the picture I have attached which I take it is the source of the stench that permeates the hotel, any decent managment would be getting this fixed ASAP, this ia a public health risk more than anything else, and i would dought it's recent going by the mould that is growing round it.

It really is a shame because the room I had was ok, a bit dated, but seemed to be clean, the shower was a nightmare with you having to run around to get wet, you do get a wifi signal but it's super slow just about good enough for e-mail, there was a great view over the harbour, if the owners put back in the money there making the place could be fantastic, at 90 odd pounds a night it is not a cheap experience, saying that all hotels in shetland are the smae price, but a lot better.

I was looking fwd to my main evening meal as I had heard good things about the food, but again was left severely dissapointed, really bland with no flavour, mayby this was a once off as locals say the food is excellent.

All in all not a pleasent experience which I will not be repeating any time soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback. The damp problem was an issue with the roof tiles and this problem has now been rectified. I do apologise for the food that was not up to your standard. We have many compliments from our diners and I can assure you this is not the usual standard. Refurbishment plans are underway and work is due to start shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.1 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 24 Commercial Street, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing