We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food at the Queens Hotel”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I'm staying at another hotel in Lerwick the Grand, but choose to eat out at the Queens Hotel, why? Simply put the new chef there is terrific. The meals are well presented, but the taste is pure magic. Highly recommend the Scallops, Haggis and the Monkfish dishes they are so fresh and full of wonderful flavours.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JakeLepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you are enjoying the food at the Queens Hotel. Look out for the new menus appearing soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 167 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel itself is a bit tired however this is more than made for with the staffs attention to detail and the efficient way they look after you.

The new chef is transforming the dinning experience from 3star to 5 star. Each day new local specials are offered and although I only stayed 2 nights both nights I ate what the chef recommended and was amazed by the quality and innovation of the food on offer.

To conclude this hotel appears to be full of staff that enjoy what they do and that reflects in the quality of service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sab101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank tou for your comments. We are happy that the food is doing well and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I found my stay in the Queens Hotel to be of a very high standard. Rooms were cleaned to an exceptional standard and the staff were very helpful. Food was superb and the views looking over the harbour were something special. Me and my wife will be using the Queens Hotel in the next few visits we will be making to Shetland. Value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thanks for the comments. It is nice to know when we do things correctly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ive stayed at a few hotels in Lerwick and this one is fine. OK so the decor is a bit dated but I imagine every hotel in Lerwick is similar. Hotels are for sleeping in - and it was warm, safe, quiet and clean. The best bits of Shetland are the outdoors, scenery and exploring. Staff were really friendly and breakfast was great - with a window seat you can watch seals, birds and the ferry. There was a good selection of cereals etc and then the cooked breakfast was really good and seemed healthy. Evening meal was good too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The initial impression of this hotel wasn't great, distinct smell of damp, when you realise how close to the sea it is, this makes sense, Our room was on the ground floor, and the window opened out to the sea. The decor was a little tired and dated,but rooms were clean and comfortable, and the meals delciious, we had both dinner and breakfast here, Friendly Antipodean staff seemed eager to help at all times.Position was great right in the centre of Lerwick, within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gems151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Tired and dated. Paint peeling from windows, wallpaper peeling from walls. Friendly enough staff working in difficult conditions. Not much choice of hotels and demand is high.

This place could easily absorb £1m on refurbishments and bringing it up to date, it has so much potential.

Only thing it has going for it is it's location

Room Tip: There are no rooms that are better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingin186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Many thanks for your comments. The hotel is currently undergoing a period of refurbishment at the moment. We hope to have these works done in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

In a beautiful old dining room we were treated to a wonderful seafood lunch with some chilled house Chardonnay. We had some superbly cooked Haddock with fries and salad for a very reasonable price. Many other diners remarked on the excellent meals.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
4.9 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Moorfield Hotel
0.3 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 24 Commercial Street, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and bedfinder AG so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing