We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left in the cold!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Orchy Guest House

Glen Orchy Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glen Orchy Guest House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Left in the cold!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Generally my stay was average. The Glen Orchy is well positioned but the place itself is dated.

The bed was hard with thin sheet and duvet, and generally uncomfortable.

The walls are very thin and I could hear conersations in adjacent rooms and noises (mostly bathroom noises) from the room below mine.

Arrived early on Friday and had to wait until lunchtime for my room to be available, despite having booked my room for night before - didnt arrive on the Thurs due to bad weather, but someone was still in the room I was offered.

Arrived back at lunchtime to find the place locked up. I tried ringing but got no reply. Had to wait about an hour for the door to be unlocked.

I was there visiting a longtime friend and on leaving the owner discovered who my friend was and proceeded to give me his opinon on that person and their "relationships". Totally invasive and inappropriate.

If I need a hotel up there again I wont he choosing the Glen Orchy.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LairdBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Glen Orchy Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your review.
We apologise for the discourteous way you were treated when you stayed with us. Our new owners and staff take great care to be warm and welcoming to all our guests.
The large numbers of oil and gas workers you complained about are now housed at their worksites and our current guests tend to be more courteous of one another.
Many of our guests rave about out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options. Our new chef offers both authentic Thai as well as traditional Scottish and British dishes.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find underfloor heating, new furniture, HD TV , free wifi, and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    16
    12
    9
See reviews for
3
12
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

I was booked into this "hotel" on business and had it not been that it was with others or for just one night I would have looked elsewhere. Initial arrival was officious rather than welcoming, and the vague directions we were given to our room made us set off up the main stair only to be shouted back and told "I don't know why you're going that way you'll be a long time looking for your room, you need to use the other stair".

Once through the maze and getting to my room I found it very spacious but the positives stopped there. The negatives were - blinds only closed across half of the window. Once into the sofa you rolled dramatically into the middle and then found it a struggle to get back out again. The TV remote didnt work. The bathroom mirror light didnt work. The door didnt appear to lock. I sat on the bed then checked under the sheets to confirm there was actually a mattress there!

Breakfast was good and served pretty quick, but overall I would do all i could to make sure I dont ever go back to this hotel. Even if a better hotel costs an extra £30 a night - it's worth it!!

Room Tip: Get a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Glen Orchy Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your review.
We apologise for the way you were treated when you stayed with us. Our new owners and staff take great care to be warm, welcoming and curteous to all our guests.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find underfloor heating, new furniture, HD TV , free wifi, and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lerwick hotels

Level Contributor
167 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The proprietor was a friendly verbose gentleman who ensured our group of 22 was well cared for - it was our first lodging in Scotland and we were there for 3 nights. Morning breakfasts were lovely and complete. Our twin room was adequate and clean but the bathroom was perhaps an afterthought (tight squeese with sqeaky pocket doors) to the addition. Our needs were meagre and we were fine. Bath towels were never changed or replaced - a personal issue for me, but I went with the flow....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maude1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Glen Orchy Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Our new owners and staff take great care to be warm and welcoming to all our guests and we are now praised for our clean premises.
We are glad you enjoyed our out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find underfloor heating, new furniture, HD TV , free wifi, and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We arrived on a very rainy day and Glen Orchy was depressing inside and out.
Our room made available for disabled visitors was very tired looking with the cheapest of fittings particularly in the bed department which was so uncomfortable and the other divan broken, give them their due after asking twice on the second day a replacement was found, manhandled ably by 2 of the Thai staff. The floor boards above made a hideous noise from guests walking about, you didnt need a wake up call!
On a plus note the wet room shower was efficient, wi-fi worked well and soft towels.
Breakfast cooked food was not good, but they were generous with fruit offerings and I did enjoy porridge on our 2nd morning.
We ate off the Thai menu our first evening, it was fine but have had better.
In sum I think the owner is feeling his age and has health issues and seems to have lost direction in the management of the business, settling the bill was a fiasco, he would have been £25 out of pocket had I not drawn the matter to attention.
Shetland is beautiful and we had some sunny days as a bonus, but I wouldn't recommend or return to Glen Orchy

Room Tip: Above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Glen Orchy Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Our new owners and staff take great care to be warm and welcoming to all our guests and we regularly receive complements about our housekeepers.
The large numbers of oil and gas workers you complained about are now housed at their worksites and our current guests tend to be more courteous of one another.
Many of our guests rave about out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options. Our new chef offers both authentic Thai as well as traditional Scottish and British dishes.
If you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find underfloor heating, new furniture, HD TV , free wifi, and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Stayed on business in a (small) single room B&B, free parking provided.
Exterior of building looks new, but interior is quite dated.
Telly in room requires a level 2 engineer to operate, although free wifi was a plus, with decent conmnection.

On previous visits have experienced billing issues, such as a £2 restaurant charge for using the restaurant (event though we were guests?!), and served outdated beers, so didn't use restaurant this time. The smell of Thai food pervades throughout the hotel corridors.

If you get the small dizzy irish lady at breakfast time you are in luck. Early breakfast was provided and served promptly. If she is not working do not expect prompt service.
Breakfast was ok for a B&B, with all the usual.

Bed was not the particularly comfy and squeaked.
Had an early morning call whenever the room above got up due to squeaking floor boards.

Stayed on business, would never stay for leisure.

On departure were told they were glad we were leaving , due to required bed space for other guests/workers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sw_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Glen Orchy Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your review.
We apologise for the discourteous way you were treated when you stayed with us. Our new owners and staff take great care to be friendly and courteous to all our guests.
The large numbers of oil and gas workers you complained about are now housed at their worksites and our current guests tend to be more considerate of one another.
Many of our guests rave about out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options. Our new chef offers both authentic Thai as well as traditional Scottish and British dishes.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find underfloor heating, new furniture, HD TV , free wifi, and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Terrible. Worst place ive ever been in my life. Tried to charge me twice for the same room after initially turning up, paying and being told our rooms would not be available for more than 4 hours. Gave everyone else their room keys and then wondered which room was mine as he thought there were none left. Then tried to charge me again when he realised there was 1 room left for me. Got into my room to find it was not clean which in essence is an understatement. bed un-made, soiled towels, one of which had fresh cut toe nails on it, not to mention the present left in the toilet for my arrival. Shower was either too hot or too cold and the room made the polar ice caps look and feel very warm. Owner was additionally unwelcoming. Stay away or visit at your peril.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stagdoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Glen Orchy Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your review.
We apologise for the discourteous way you were treated when you stayed with us. Our new owners and staff take great care to be warm and welcoming to all our guests.
Today our cleaners are regularly praised for their thoroughness.
The large numbers of oil and gas workers you complained about are now housed at their worksites and our current guests tend to be more courteous of one another.
Many of our guests rave about out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options. Our new chef offers both authentic Thai as well as traditional Scottish and British dishes.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find underfloor heating, new furniture, HD TV , free wifi, and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

What a dump! This guest house has overpriced rooms (probably because of the supply/demand problem in Lerwick), the proprietor was facetious, the place was full of the smell of Thai cooking. Our room was clean but,even in June near the solstice, was cold and dark. The walls were paper thin so that we could easily hear the conversation in the room next door, (unfortunately for us there was a young baby next to us!) The bed was lumpy, our sheet was torn, the shower kept going cold on us,the towels were old and a bit smelly, the plastic "glasses" were scratched, one leaked! (We threw it in the bin and later that day it was "washed" and back on the shelf - we knew it was the same one because it still leaked!) At breakfast the bacon had been cooked for hours with plates swimming in grease. On a bright note the Irish waitress at breakfast was delightful!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judith1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Glen Orchy Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your review.
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Our new owners and staff take great care to be warm and welcoming to all our guests.
Today our cleaners are regularly praised for their thoroughness.
Many of our guests rave about out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options. Our new chef offers both authentic Thai as well as traditional Scottish and British dishes.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find underfloor heating, new furniture, HD TV , free wifi, and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.2 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Orchy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Orchy Guest House

Property: Glen Orchy Guest House
Address: 20 Knab Road, Lerwick ZE1 0AX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Orchy Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Orchy is a converted Edwardian Convent located near Lerwick city centre. We are situated in a quiet neighbourhood with views which overlook the town and both Lerwick and Breiwick Bays. We are across the street from a golf course with coastal walks. We are family owned and operated with a few specially selected staff. We do our very best to make our guests feel welcomed and valued. We want everyone to have a pleasant stay and leave with good memories. We share information about whale sightings and aurora alerts. We try to make the extra effort for our guests because we know they have come great distances to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Glen Orchy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Orchy Guest House Hotel Lerwick
Glen Orchy Hotel
Glen Orchy Guest House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing