We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Havly Cafe

Havly Cafe
Ranked #3 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Lerwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family friendly cafe serving snacks, home bakes and delicious coffee. Free wifi.
Granvin, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a lovely cup of coffee and some very good cakes. A nice place with good service, close to Lerwick centre and our B&B!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    35
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Nice food but too many noisy kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stopped here for a late lunch during the Folk Festival. Our food was nice enough (I had the mackeral pate salad) but it wasn't a very relaxing lunch as it was teeming with kids running riot. Clearly the place is attractive for families as there is a little area with play things in it but the ladies that were lunching near us seemed to forget that there were other diners present and were happy to let their children run riot, play around in the toilet area and shout and scream. Not the most pleasant experience for us - while it's not the cafe's fault, I do think that they perhaps should have asked the parents to exercise some control over their kids for the sake of other customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
2 reviews
“Used to be better!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'm not sure whats happened with the Havly since late last year! It was brilliant! Service was excellent and the food was extremely good. This is now not the case. Service is painfully slow to the point of annoying and the quality of the lunches they are serving has deteriorated considerably. Food orders for the same table have started to come out with 10 minute gaps between them??? We ordered a pot of tea for 2, which was written down on an order slip (very slowly), then after sitting for over 10 minutes, someone came to ask whether it was a pot of tea for 2 we ordered???? Please take note and make some drastic improvements before its too late. It would be such a shame to lose a 'potentially' brilliant cafe!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShetlandLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Must go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely family friendly cafe and so many lovely things to choose from on the menu that you are spoiled for choice! Try one of the "specials" a different one every day!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank shetlandwomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonvienna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Slowest service in Scotland?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Possibly one of the slowest cafes I've ever visited. Guy was more interested in talking to others than sorting out order then forgot one of the teas (we only ordered 2 coffees and a tea). Useless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WOWGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havly Cafe also viewed

 
Lerwick, Mainland
 

Been to Havly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing