We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Food”
Review of Queens Hotel

Queens Hotel
Ranked #24 of 40 Restaurants in Lerwick
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

As others have said, ignore the seemingly faded look of this hotel; it really does have an excellent restaurant.

I had the salmon trio, followed by the Pig on a Plate, both of which tasted lovely.

The service did seem a little confused, but this didn't at all affect our enjoyment of the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    27
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“After the server's meltdown, this was a great place for dinner”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is an old traditional hotel. On our first night in Lerwick it was very busy with oilrig workers, and although there were some empty tables, rather a fuss was made about finding us a place. Then the harried waiter almost had a meltdown about how busy he was. But finally we were seated and served and everything turned out so well we returned the next two nights. The food was delicious and the staff very pleasant. The mussels were wonderful and the scallops on black pudding shouldn't be missed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

On holiday in Shetland we enjoyed lunch at the Queens. Scallops served in their shell cooked with a delicious gruyere cheese crumb went down very well and they were happy to serve two starters rather than a main course so we also had a hearty lentil and potato soup - even in June it's windy in Shetland! Thoroughly excellent service from our waitress and artful presentation from the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingScotsman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Express Lunch”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Queens hotel Express Lunch was very good value - £10 for 2 courses or £13 for 3. I had a very tasty fish pie, followed by Sticky Toffee Pudding. Hubby opted for Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup followed by Lamb and Chickpea Curry with Naan Bread and Rice. All very tasty, served by attentive, pleasant waitresses. Thank you, we will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
“The best meal in years”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Went to the queens this week heard it was good. What can I say but 10 out of 10. The scollops with pea purée and blackpudding was not only looked great but tasted great too for main I had the pig on a plate with the pork belly, blackpudding, pork fillet wrapped in Parma ham, and my fav bit the pig cheek all with mash apple sauce and a lovely jus. I will be going back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing