We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the world? Probably.”

Islesburgh House Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islesburgh House Hostel
York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best in the world? Probably.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Immaculately clean, spacious and modern inside. Two lounges, both with free computers/internet, and large kitchen and dining room. Great value.

I stayed here for three nights and it became a home from home especially when I was holed up in Lerwick for the day after a flight was called off. So much nicer to have the full run of a house, as such, rather than just have a room in a B&B. Only downside [and it's a very small one] is that the reception is manned for limited hours per day for cost reasons so I had to check in via the community centre over the road. The dormitory I was in was large as well but, again, this didn't bother me really. Just a few minutes walk into the town centre.

Even if you wouldn't ordinarily consider a youth hostel you should cast aside your prejudices and try this one!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
8
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

From the time I first booked accommodation here, I have had a wonderful experience with Islesburgh. The hostel is comfortable and clean, with a large, well-equipped kitchen, dining area, and common room, not to mention the excellent location in the middle of town just a few blocks away from the waterfront shops. (Plus the showers are in individual rooms with changing areas, so you don't have to worry about wandering around in a towel.) The staff are immensely helpful, and were kind enough to let me leave my bag in their storage room all day after checking out. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Lerwick, as it is truly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fireontheriver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Having been unnecessarily hassled by rather grim security officers at Inverness Airport, a flight over a grey and tossing sea and touching down at Sumburgh Head in wind and rain it was so good to find our accommodation to be warm and everything we could wish for. Our three night stay was a happy one and we would enthusiastically walk in the door if the chance to visit Shetland comes our way again. (We - two 60+ ladies - were yet to endure two more equally unfriendly Inverness security checks before landing in Kirkwall and remember we hadn't left Scotland! It all seemed a little over the top so be warned!). This hostel is spotless, roomy, interesting and the staff as helpful as one could wish. Well done Shetland Council!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, North Wales
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

There's absolutely nothing I could fault about the Islesburgh House Hostel. Safe storage for the bikes, friendly and very helpful staff, comfortable accommodation, free wi-fi and a well stocked kitchen. This really does set the standard for hostels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Hosteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hostel is in a beautifully done up Victorian building next to a wondeful large garden in den centre of Lerwick. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean, big and the facilities are the same: free internet, TVs, wonderful kitchen etc. It is among the best hostels there are on this planet. It is also big enough so that people don't step on each others toes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was my 47th ‘hotel’ stay in 8 months of around-the-word travel. I stayed in a sole-use (twin) room (#106) for one night at a cost of GBP30 for the night (including tax).

What’s good: The hostel was super clean and in a good location, although it is quite a walk (30 minutes) from the Ferry Terminal. Linen (though not a towel) provided in the price (duvet on beds). Security was good. Large (and clean) kitchen facilities and shared eating area, with a couple of separate lounge areas including tvs and dvd player. Computer available for guest use. Free wifi was available in common areas, although I had difficulty using it. Heating was good. My room also had a handbasin and a small desk/chair.

Shower facilities were modern and clean, although there’s no separation between the actual shower recess and where you dress, so it’s tricky keeping your dry clothes out of water on the floor.

There’s no full-time reception staff so on weekends you’ll need too call into the Community Centre first (next door). Rooms are upstairs and there’s not an elevator so those with mobility difficulties might have problems here. Room keys have a special security tag, and can be a bit noisy opening and closing doors. Guests seemed fairly well spaced out across rooms, which helped keep the noise factor down. Staff were friendly and helpful.

To book or enquire you’ll need to email the hostel directly.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

5 star service and facilities in an old-style house. A huge kitchen and dining room. I met Bruce here, who's the best staff I've ever met. He's during the last week before his retirement when I was there, a lovely gentlemen. Also, lots of solo travellers there which I met the greatest ones. Amazing journey on Shetland! It's in the centre of Lerwick, 5mins from the bay and around 15minutes walk from the ferry habour which is acceptable for me.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 6 ppl female room on 3th floor which is excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanlynn_ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.3 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
146 reviews
4.6 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
223 reviews
17.7 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islesburgh House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islesburgh House Hostel

Property: Islesburgh House Hostel
Address: King Harald Street | Islesburgh Complex, Lerwick ZE1 0EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lerwick
Also Known As:
Islesburgh House Hostel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing