We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shetland Museum and Archives
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great exhibitions - well laid out

Great range of exhibitions reflecting Shetland life and work. Plenty of space to move around and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Mary R
,
Preston, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fantastic museum

This museum is so well done, it really is one of the best museums I have been to. It is simply... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
bethmaryclayton
,
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 790 reviews
  
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveler rating
614
122
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
122
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shetland museum well worth a visit interactive displays cafe restaurant two floors oil industry couple of hours modern building pre history rainy day gift shop all ages hays dock first floor nice cafe few hours the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great range of exhibitions reflecting Shetland life and work. Plenty of space to move around and see everything.

Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This museum is so well done, it really is one of the best museums I have been to. It is simply essential if you want to learn more about the history and culture of the Shetland Isles.

Thank bethmaryclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the Shetland Museum one very wet morning with my wife and two Canadian friends and found it an absolutely fascinating place.
When we first arrived, the front desk were extremely helpful in pointing us in the right direction for the things we were interested in. The staff were very knowledgeable too.
The whole museum is very well laid out and very simple to follow - but there are so many interesting exhibits that one could spend much more time there, than we could spare.
There were sections on early geology, how the islands were formed and a long take on Shetland's history, right through to the modern day.
It touched on archeology, agriculture down through the ages, sociology for many years past, culture, the oceans and fishing boats, ferries, travel and transport, both between the islands and with the mainland. It also touched on clothes and traditional industries, right up to date with the coming of the oil industry and the building of the Sullom Voe Terminal.
The museum also had a small but very comprehensive archive section, that our Canadian friends used to find out some more about their ancestors back to the year 1784. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout their visit and they came away with a lot of very good historical information.
We would enjoy visiting the museum again at some point in the future.
I can also recommend the Hays Dock Cafe adjoining the museum, as we had lunch there and it was well worth a visit.
Finally, we were all most impressed with the toilets which were very clean and well equipped.

Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like that this museum focused on boats as well periods of time. Enjoyed seeing the old car as well other interesting artefacts. Had lunch at their cafe.

Thank jcovecbns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an excellent museum and particularly good if you want help looking up your ancestry. The staff couldn't be more knowledgeable and spend a lot of time trying to help.
The building is modern and sleek inside and very clean.
Everything and anything you want to know about Shetland is here and for a rainy day (or otherwise) it is the best place to be.

Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and not just because it was pretty much the only place open in Lerwick on a Sunday. It's extremely informative and the exhibits and artifacts are both plentiful and very well laid out.

Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This is a lovely modern space which tells you about Shetland History form the earliest of times to the present day. I love the knitting collection. I have been in the archives to research the fisher girls, listened to children play Scottish music in the hall, watched a film on Shetland history and used it as the Hub for Wool Week 2018. There is always something of interest there. The displays are beautifully presented and you can learn a lot. Amazingly, it is free entry. With a coffee shop upstairs with stunning views of the water, what is there to not like?

Thank JillG411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The Museum covers the Islands from the very begining to the present day, from the Ice age to the Oil revolution and a whole lot in between. It is highly interactive and would excite children's curiosity, be they 2 years old or 102 years old. If you have had any Shetland Relatives, then the Archives will be the source of any information about the person and their family. It is also the headquarters for the Shetland Family History Society and the volunteers are extrememly helpful. I will return to find out more about my ancestral roots.

Thank rphood2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

`i accompanied my wife a few times to the museum as she was involved in the Wool Week and it was used as the 'hub' for all of the participants including some evening talks etc. It is brilliantly put together as a museum and well worth the visit even without the Wool Week. Very informative, enthusiastic and welcoming staff too.

Thank j4c4h4d4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

The museum is a must for visitors. Vast variety of exhibits, beautifully displayed with informative descriptions. Imaginative layout, education but never boring. Pity that one of the most impressive Shetland treasures, the St. Ninian's Isle treasure is only in replica form with the originals in Edinburgh. They should be in this excellent museum.

Thank Jarl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews