We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable view - great restaurant”
Review of The Lerwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lerwick Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times. The Best thing about this hotel is the view you get if you stay in one of the rooms facing the seaside - unbeatable (see pic). The second best thing is the restaurant food, which really is great (not the stake though). Staff is also nice and check-in / out is quick. Free parking. 10 mins walking distance from "downtown".

The hotel has recently undergone some restoration to the entrance and lobby area when they should really have better spent the money modernising the rooms instead. Rooms are smallish (unless you get the very large suites). Beds are old and not that comfortable. Everything, from curtains to bed lining to closets is old and a bit tired. The hotel and the rooms are clean though. WiFi is a bit rubbish in certain areas but it is complimentary and i believe they are working on it.

Overall, the hotel is good but definitely overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room with seaside view and good wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zibbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 228 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our room had a great view of the bay. Breakfast was excellent--all the grilled kippers you could want. The room was fine. Seemed reasonably priced, especially after London. Not located in the heart of Lerwick but it's only a jaunty 10 minute stroll to anywhere. And closer to the seals at the Tesco and the Broch of Clickimin than staying on the high street.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeGrantGuignol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nice stay in this hotel.
We stayed as a family, we hadn't booked enough room because all the hotels were full in Lerwick. So we arrived a little bit stress that we would have to sleep in the car.
The staff gently found one room for us and they was really nice.
The room was ok, with a nice view of the sea.
The only thing is that the decoration and furniture in reception, dining room and bar are very nice, but in the room not so, it's kind of disapointing.
The bathroom was very nice but there was some dirt on the shower curtains.

Room Tip: Choose the room with sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nynad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is a liitle bit out of the town centre, however many of the rooms have a really great sea view. The rooms are clean and reasonably equipped with a good en suite. The decor and furnishings in some areas are a bit tired however the rooms are comfortable.

The bar is fully stocked and the staff fairly attentive.

Breakfasts are fine with a good range of dishes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broomhillbillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am lucky enough to travel to Shetland at least 4 times a year on business generally with a couple of colleagues. I have yet to be let down at this hotel. The rooms are clean, warm an comfortable with the hospitality of the staff , from the manager to the bar staff, first class. The food is great with breakfast cooked to order. Going back in June and looking forward to my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Lerwick Hotel, I pleased to say we had a very good stay. The staff were all very helpful, friendly and chatty. I made a request for the outside of the window to be cleaned as the salty air was getting to it and they acted very quickly on the request. The view was beautiful and a fantastic feature of the hotel. As previously commented on here - don't let the grey council exterior put you off, inside is much much nicer.
The food is very tasty and the portions are big. The fudge cheesecake went down particularly well with us!
I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in Lerwick.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have taken our 3 kids here for lunch twice now and would not consider going anywhere else. The staff are extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. The menu is varied from week to week with great choices every time. The kids menu is a steal for 2 or 3 courses with choice to suit any fussy eater and comes with a picture to colour in and crayons to keep them amused. The meals are ready in record time with plentiful portions and changes and additions to the menu are actioned without hesitation. The value and quality are second to none.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodeyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.5 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
4.4 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
86 reviews
25.3 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lerwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lerwick Hotel

Address: 15 South Road, Lerwick, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range: $113 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lerwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Lerwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Lerwick
The Lerwick Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing