We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous apartment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brentham House

Brentham House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brentham House
Ranked #12 of 13 Lerwick B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed for 5 nights at the Brentham house. I booked the Bressay suite and may i say the apartment was fabulous. It has a large fully fitted kitchen with all the utensils that you could possibly need. The lounge/diner has a nice comfy leather 3 piece suite, large flat screen TV and a four seater dining table. The bedroom is fitted with 2 comfortable double beds and a bathroom with a power shower (no bath)

It is right on the edge of the main shopping high street and round the corner from the bus station (bus costs £3 from the airport) and opposite the Bressay ferry port which you overlook from the apartment.

The only comments i will make about the property is that all accommodation is only accessible via the stairs, so maybe not suitable for people with mobility problems. Also there is only one bedroom in the bressay suite with the 2 double beds and it looks like a partition wall may have been removed at some point, because its huge, about 25 to 30 foot long.

I certainly recommend this place and thank you to all the people involved for creating such a nice place to stay, a lot of organisations can certainly take note

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Good quality accommodation and 'thought through'.

Nicely appointed, huge bathroom with free standing bath (although bath taps leaked when on full over the floor) and fast WiFi. Can park outside overnight and good view of the harbour.

Breakfast underwhelming but as described but this was the only niggle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I spend the last night of our honeymoon to Shetlands staying in Brentham house which was excellent value at £75 for the night. After a week staying in a hostel and walking everyday, we thought we were in heaven after checking into Brentham. The room was gorgeous with great views of Lerwick harbour, location between the bus station and town and to top it all a gorgeous bathroom with a role top bath in the centre and his and hers sinks. The bed was the even more comfortable than our own at home. A lovely and luxurious end to our stay in Shetland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I found the room (room 2 - up a lot of stairs) to be spacious and clean, though I'm not a fan of continental breakfasts. I'd point out I did know about this arrangement beforehand. Decent location for Town Centre. You can get parked right outside on steep street if you appear after about 6-30pm, otherwise there is free car parks at the top of the hill. A better place for a couple than a solo traveller.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paradise_alley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinner
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed in Room 3 on 2nd floor. The room was cleaned but the carpet and chair were marked and didn't give the feeling of clean. Breakfast is left in the fridge, so not that satisfactory for the price. The bathroom was massive and the saving grace. We stayed at other B&B's on the islands and this was the least favoured. I'd try somewhere different.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinnerSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Nice sized property near harbour. No reception - keys are picked up from nearby restaurant. Parking is on street only. Continental breakfast items replenished daily. Bathroom dated and housekeeping needs to improve. We stayed in bressay suite which had separate kitchen - worktops etc wiped but not cleaned and sheets on beds could be better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.4 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.3 mi away
Self Catering Shetland
Self Catering Shetland
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Knysna House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentham House

Property: Brentham House
Address: 7 Harbour Street, Lerwick ZE1 0LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lerwick
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Brentham House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing