We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at good value (£10pp)”

Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Lerwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in the Shetland Museum and Archives, Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant offers stunning views over Lerwick harbour and the best local produce, simply cooked and beautifully presented.
London
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food at good value (£10pp)”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovely restaurant above the Shetlands Museum - both are worth a visit! I had the Seafood chowder which was beautiful and surprisingly light. My friend had the Quesidillas. A great place to fill our stomachs on a Sunday (most attractions in Lerwick are closed on Sundays) before wandering around the Museum!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ldnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    158
    51
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We couldn't get in here at first as it was fully booked but we waited and were rewarded with super food and efficient service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“End of day and special diets”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived just before 4pm, checking they didn't close until 5. We chose this cafe hoping over others they would have something that was gluten and dairy free. Even just salad. As soon as we entered we were informed in not a very polite way that they were only serving cake and drinks. Fair enough I supposed at 4.30 but not at 3.50. When asking about dairy and gluten free very little help was given. When asked what I could have I said usually I have salad when out if there is nothing else. No further help was given and it was suggested that I was just ordering coffee! While we sat a family of four was turned away at 4.35. And we were given our bill (with out us asking for it) at 4.40. 20 mins before closing and told the cafe was closing.

Having said all this the atmosphere was nice. An excellent view from our seats and the decor was really good. However, I will eat elsewhere when in Lerwick again as the waitress was not at all helpful with an alternative food choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“lovely place with a great view”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Even on a wet day, the view is special - and the food is good and the staff are lovely, so there is no more to be said!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank glasgowgigi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is excellent with good food, friendly staff and a good view. It is great for a snack or a meal or just a cup of coffee. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanette8179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Lerwick, Mainland
 

Been to Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing