We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thank you, Margaret, for providing such a...”
other travelers have booked this property
Double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom
Lounge with adjacent dining area Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Double bedroom
Lounge with adjacent dining area
Fully equipped kitchen
Twin bedroom
16 Mounthooly Street entrance
Gannets on cliffs at Noss
Victoria Pier and Lerwick town centre.
Clickimin Leisure Centre, Lerwick
Clickimin broch, Lerwick
Lerwick Harbour with the Tollbooth in background.
Nearby Lerwick Lodberries - home of character Jimmy Perez in BBC drama 'Shetland'.
Norwegian training ship the 'Stratsraad Lemkhul' in Lerwick harbour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Thank you, Margaret, for providing such a comfortable home for our week`s stay in Lerwick. We lacked nothing.”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

Thank you, Margaret, for providing such a comfortable home for our week`s stay in Lerwick. We lacked nothing. The weather was perfect, and we even had breakfasts outside.
The situation of the house in the old part of the town was perfect with easy access to shops and the harbour.
We loved Shetland. There is so much to see and do. We only scratched the surface. The scenery was spectacular, the geology fascinating, the birds and wild flowers amazing.
Thank you so much.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
Thank you for your kind reveiw. I am so glad thet you and your family enjoyed your stay in Mounthooly Street and celebrated your combined birthdays in style.
Best Wishes
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKCroft
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The house was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. At the end of our holiday it was doubtful wether we could fly home due to the weather and Margaret and Tommy were kind enough to offer us extra nights at the cottage which was very thoughtful of them. Couldn’t have asked for anything better. The cottage was situated in the ideal location for getting around mainland Shetland, with a good bus service running past the top of the road. We will definitely be staying here again and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Lerwick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2018
Thank you Kerry for your kind review.
It was good to meet you and thanks for leaving the house so neat and tidy.
Hope to see you back in Shetland soon.
Best Wishes Margaret & Tommy xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore...
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Very special place to stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We loved the attractive, cozy house. Its location could not have been better for waterfront, restaurants, shops, museums, and library. The street is quaint and quiet. Everything was clean and convenient. The owners are delightful. We attended the Shetland Folk Festival and had a fabulous two weeks here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2018
Thank you Jim and Heather for your kind review of our house.
It was lovely to meet you both and hope to see you again
Many Thanks
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“EXCELLENT STAY WITH VERY ACCOMMODATING OWNER.”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I booked this accommodation for two colleagues visiting Lerwick on business and communication prior and during the stay were excellent as were the meet and greet service arrangements.

The house is welcoming, clean and very comfortable and my colleagues would recommend to anyone visiting Lerwick.

Their special thanks to Margaret who made their stay very smooth and most enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable. Ideal situation”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house was clean, comfortable and pleasantly warm (don’t know how as the radiators were never hot when I touched them!). The TV, video, DVD / CD player provided entertainment if you wanted to stay in. Beds were comfortable and bathroom well equipped. The kitchen was also well equipped and although compact was perfectly adequate for a holiday.We even entertained guests with no problem.
The house is on a narrow lane which leads down to the centre of Lerwick via the Lounge Bar (with its local musicians) nevertheless it was very quiet and peaceful. In the other direction, the Clickimin and Islesburgh centres are within easy walking distance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thanks Micheal & Liz for your kind review.
Were glad you found the house comfortable and warm.
Our heating is from the waste to energy plant in Lerwick which provides very efficient district heating for the town.
Thanks for choosing our accommodation and hope to see you in the future.
Thanks
Margaret.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing