We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday treat for my family”
Review of Gurkha Kitchen

Gurkha Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Lerwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Scalloway, Shetland.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday treat for my family”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was my uncle's birthday and we were all invited to this restaurant which has been a personal favourite for me. The curries were divine and the staff are very patient and kind. After our meal, we were offered coffee and enjoyed our night.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    62
    25
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The quality of food is excellent; it's the best indian in Shetland. The portion size is also adiquate. The service is fine and the atmosphere is equal to that. The prices aren't cheap but they're not expensive either. Overall, I would recommend the Gurkha Kitchen to anyone that enjoys that genre of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xWackix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Poor curry.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Same as ever, the lack of decent restaurants in Shetland is an ongoing problem. This is not a traditional indian curry house rather a Nepalise version and thereby hangs the big problem. I cannot cook Nepalise and they cannot cook Indian, period. Friendly staff though but never impressed with the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a night out in a large group and the food and service were outstanding. It was good value for money too

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Protraveller5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great choice, great food.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a take-away from Ghurka Kitchen. Service was quick and friendly. Dishes were flavoursome and well cooked - coconut rice was wonderful.

A really good meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GertieSquirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Kitchen also viewed

 
Lerwick, Mainland
Lerwick, Mainland
 

Been to Gurkha Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing