We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommended”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen
The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Luxurious  bedroom with double aspect views of the sea
The breakfast room with sea views
The breakfast room is available for you to use all day
Looking north toward Lerwick harbour. 
A view from the garden
The Bressay ferry during the day.
The Bressay ferry at night
Sunset over the Ness of Sound, a 15 minute walk along the coastal path (the Sletts)
The Old Tool Booth in Lerwick
A view of historic Lerwick, the capital of Shetland.
The small boat harbour in Lerwick. A 10 minute walk from South Ness House
Lerwick harbour can cater for many types of vessels.
A part of Shetland's maritime heritage
Norwegian vessels moored in Lerwick harbour
The 'Statsraad Lehmkul' sets sail for Bergen in Norway
A view from the breakfast room. 
Cruise liners are regular summer visitors.
'In between weathers'
A Shetland expression relating to the ever changing climactic conditions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
allanhowa...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed for 4 days on a work visit at the end of July.
The location is central with a short walk to the city center.
I had a lovely sea view room.
The beds was extremely comfortable.
The place in spotless.
Great selection for Breakfast.
Really recommend this Guesthouse.
One small improvement, would be good to have tea/coffee in the room.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Alan
Thank you for taking the time to review South Ness House.
We aim to provide a unique and personal service. Guests have 24 hour access to tea and coffee making facilities in the breakfast room. We want to avoid offering a 'Hotel experience' with long life milk and service trays in the bedroom.
We hope we can welcome you to South Ness House in the near future.
Kind regards
Pippa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnh2014...
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect accommodation in perfect location”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, solid, historic stone house located close to water edge at a point giving views up to Lerwick and out to open sea. The house has very high quality fittings (bathroom, windows, etc.) that match the style of the house. Very clean.
Exceptional breakfasts - top quality ingredients prepared perfectly. In fact, the quality of the breakfasts at least matched the quality at any of the top rated restaurants/cafes in Lerwick that we visited (Hay's Dock, Fjara). Pippa provided excellent travel guidance on things to see - beyond the usual sights (e.g. where to see otters). We really enjoyed Colin's art that decorates the house. Pippa and Colin are genuine and friendly.
We think that the house was well worth the price.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Pippa and Collins hospitality has been far beyond what we have expected. They gave us a lot of good advices for our trip around Shetland.
The breakfast was exellent and served with a smile. We stayed in a beautiful room with a nice bathroom - and a wonderful view.
Thank's a lot!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruedigers...
Koblenz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful house and very nice hosts”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a whole week at South Ness House and left with a tear in one eye and a smile in the other. Our stay was perfect in every sense. The bombastic landscape, the beautiful weather and the friendliness of our hosts made it stunning holiday.
Pippa and Colin gave us advice and assistance in every possible way and were very nice people.
The house was beautiful and tastefully furnished. The porridge was the best I ever had. In case we will ever get back to Shetland we would like to visit again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful South Ness House”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

South Ness House, Lerwick, Shetland Islands is a beautiful property located at the mouth of the Lerwick Harbour. The views are spectacular, great walking trails are right next to the house. The breakfasts were sumptuous and there was a lot of choice. The room was lovely with excellent bedding and I slept like a rock. The owners are warm, welcoming and genuinely live Shetland. They had lots of tips and advice and contributed enormously to the amazing trip I had to Shetland. I will go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review. It is great that you were able to embrace Shetland and enjoy so much of what it has to offer. We very much hope we can welcome you again to South Ness House again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything you need for a truly great holiday”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Here are two people who just enjoy making sure their guests are well looked after and who go the extra mile to do this.
The house is comfortable with "the best view in Shetland" from the master guest room.
Breakfast is a true joy with all the local specialities traditionally prepared.
We were sorry to leave and look forward to returning

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dick H
1 review
“D”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fabulous. Top location delightful hospitality feels like coming home. Feeling sad to say goodbye. Someday we will be back for a longer stay. Many thanks Pippa & Colin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing