We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent visit, lovely property & lovely hosts!”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen
The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Luxurious  bedroom with double aspect views of the sea
The breakfast room with sea views
The breakfast room is available for you to use all day
Looking north toward Lerwick harbour. 
A view from the garden
The Bressay ferry during the day.
The Bressay ferry at night
Sunset over the Ness of Sound, a 15 minute walk along the coastal path (the Sletts)
The Old Tool Booth in Lerwick
A view of historic Lerwick, the capital of Shetland.
The small boat harbour in Lerwick. A 10 minute walk from South Ness House
Lerwick harbour can cater for many types of vessels.
A part of Shetland's maritime heritage
Norwegian vessels moored in Lerwick harbour
The 'Statsraad Lehmkul' sets sail for Bergen in Norway
A view from the breakfast room. 
Cruise liners are regular summer visitors.
'In between weathers'
A Shetland expression relating to the ever changing climactic conditions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Pauljones...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent visit, lovely property & lovely hosts!”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I stayed here for 1 night whilst in Lerwick for business purposes, I was made to feel welcome from the moment I opened the door! Colin & Pippa went out of their way to show me around and ensure I had everything I needed for my stay along with their excellent facilities, and wonderful views they really have a lovely place here. Breakfast was delicious and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when the need arises and would recommend to anyone. Many thanks, Lee

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2017
Thank you Lee. It was a pleasure having you to stay and hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet162970
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely amazing location and even more amazing accomodation! The hospitality of both Pippa and Collin is far beyond any standards we have experienced anywhere in the world. Thank you again for having us in your stunning home and serving us the delicious breakfast! Wish we could stay longer.

We are definitely coming back so see you again in the summer! :)

Martina & Harris

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
monikamac...
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
“It was an exceptional stay.”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely fantastic silence in the house. One finally manages to hear one’s thoughts. Around - just the sea. Beautiful room and bedclothes, books. Elegant dining room, snow white table cloth, tasty breakfast, delicious cakes. Incredible Hosts: Pippa and Colin who took care of us in each and every smallest detail. Talks. Openness. One feels very welcomed. We wish we could stay longer. All the best to you.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Pippa and Colin the owners
Liked least: Everything was beyond my expectations and perfect
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at South Ness House and look forward to welcoming you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan G
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location, food and accomodation and great hosts.”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Pippa and Colin were fantastic hosts, always on hand to offer advice, provide those extra touches, like flasks of coffee for our days out, as well as providing us with a beautiful home to stay in with great views, delicious breakfasts and a steady supply of fruit cake for afternoon tea. Lerwick town centre is only 5 to 10 minutes walk away so finding somewhere for supper in walking distance was easy - although you need to book some in advance for some places. Lerwick is also a great place to travel out from with easy day trips to all the main sites. The only down point is that we couldn't stay longer as there is still much to do and see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Liked best: Setting, facilities and friendiness of hosts
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you to South Ness House again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacekBJ
Gdansk, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
754 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Dream place”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Dear Pippa, dear Colin,
I think I wrote already everything in guest log book - You created perfect place for real travelers.
Place is unique and beautiful, room was comfortable with perfect view. The atmosphere was something special, a bit melancholic - perfect for the artists.
For travellers: it is "a must". Internet works well, no problem with parking, perfect, quite location - so there are only You and sea waves.
Unforgettable experience.
To Pippa and Colin: please take care about my whisky- I will be back soon or a later.
All the best to You both

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Dear Jacek,
Many thanks for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay at South Ness House and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.
We can assure you that your whisky is safe with us and we are confident it will taste even better the next time you come and stay.
With best wishes
C&P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing