We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in comfort in the quality furnished lounge after a day exploring Kirkwall and Orkney.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in comfort in the quality furnished lounge after a day exploring Kirkwall and Orkney.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Relax in comfort in the quality furnished lounge after a day exploring Kirkwall and Orkney.
Dine in style in the large kitchen diner: all appliances, crockery and accessories are brand new.
Master bedroom, with tea and coffee making facilities.
Double bedroom.
Single bedroom
Hallway/Landing
Bathroom
Bathroom with shower etc.
19 St Catherine's Place
Relax in comfort in the quality furnished lounge after a day exploring Kirkwall and Orkney
Take the two minute stroll to the harbour and marina on the way to the many pubs and restuarants.
Your holiday home is in the centre of the picturesque and historic Royal Burgh of Kirkwall.
Just 150 metres away from the historic Kirkwall Harbour, and ferries to the Northern Isles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
somersetv...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Quality house - clean, comfortable and solid. Really less than 5 minutes to seaside or to centre of town. Steve the owner couldn't have been more helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at 19 st Catherines place, kirkwall. We are happy to help where we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joala
Bourton on the Water
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Perfectly located and very comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is ideal for a self catering trip to the Orkneys. It sleeps 5, (one single and two doubles - one small, with bed pushed to the wall). It is great that it has a bathroom upstairs and a (tiny) downstairs toilet. The kitchen is well equipped and the owners had been kind enough to leave us a pint of milk and a welcome basket of oatcakes and fudge. The lounge is comfortable with a TV (which we never switched on) and a range of DVDs and books. The internet worked fine, as did the heating. There is no parking and it is on a fairly well used street, but it's not busy most of the time (it is Kirkwall!), so we had no problem pulling up for a few moments on the double yellow lines to drop off bags and found free parking in several locations within a couple of hundred meters. It is only a short walk to the high street where there are shops including a Co-op Supermarket, and several pubs and eating places are also close by. There are larger supermarkets a short drive across town. Everyone was very friendly and we'd recommend staying in Kirkwall as, apart from maybe Stromness, the rest of the Island is very quiet and short of facilities.
One tip. If you want to take a car to one of the other Islands, plan ahead and book. The booking office is just at the bottom of the road, so very handy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2017
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Orcadians certainly are friendly and we hope you will be able to visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie D
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked this for a long weekend away with a group of lifelong friends. Superb and Very clean property. Heat was good and comfortable.

We loved the quaint wee loo downstairs.

We were a group of five and all very pleased. Two min walk to street. You get a lovely, local welcome pack.

Excellent property and we certainly will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very close to town. Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Only a short walk in to town with shops, bars and cafe's only a 5 minute walk away. Sea front and harbour just down the road with lovely views across the North Islands. The house itself is very comfortable (had some very good nights sleep) and has everything you could need for when the evenings come or the Orkney weather sets in - it really is a home from home. Close to local travel centre and parking very close by; perfect for those who like to get around and explore all that Orkney has to offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Thank you for your comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Kirkwall, Orkney.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bikingboy
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy well-located base for exploring Kirkwall and Orkney”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My brother and I both very much enjoyed our recent stay in here. It was a lovely, comfortable base for exploring the town and further afield.

The arrangements were very smooth, and the look and feel of the house was very warm and welcoming. 2 minutes walk from central Kirkwall, and 30 seconds from the waterfront, so it was a great location too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Kirkwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary100
London
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Near to the centre of Kirkwall, this makes it a convenient base for exploring the Orkneys. Short walk to main shopping area, so easy for going out in the evening.
The house is comfortable and quite compact, though not as cosy as it could be, and there are no good views from the Windows.
My husband couldn't sit on the downstairs toilet as insufficient leg room, and he did bash his head a fair bit on the low ceilings!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertha56
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great home from home well equipped cottage VERY close to town ,ferries, marina and pubs .near to parking places too ,10 minutes from 3 big supermarkets if you want to walk .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close proximity to everything
Liked least: not facing the sea
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thank you for your comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing