We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chinese food at its best”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Empire Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 36 Restaurants in Kirkwall
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
orkney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“chinese food at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

great chinese food in Kirkwall . takaways can be ordered also , deliverys to local areas also avalable

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank willieOrkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    18
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a little uninteresting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Food was a little uninteresting, but there was plenty of it, and the service was really helpful and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Give it a try if you have the craving !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Visited here early on a Saturday evening. The takeaway area had people queuing outside and a couple of tables were empty within the restaurant. As we were staying in a B&B, we decided to have a sit-down meal. The appetiser to share was lovely and the crispy duck and pancakes was good too. We then shared some sweet and sour chicken, fried rice, chicken chow mein and duck with mushrooms. All of which were delicious and great value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sawyer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is the best Chinese food I've had in Scotland, being a frequent visitor I have lived on Fish and Chips since they are so good...but do have to get my veg.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diantidote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

On an self-catering holiday in the Orkneys. Had seen several locals popping in for take-outs so decided to give it a try mid-week. Quick service, freshly cooked & tasty. Probably 30% cheaper than what we pay for an equivalent selection near London and the portions were much bigger. We failed to spot the crispy duck until we got back to our cottage as it waslisted under 'Duck dishes' not 'starters' so the children were disappointed! Worth a visit to give the cook a night off!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morgantg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Kirkwall, Mainland
 
Kirkwall, Mainland
Kirkwall, Mainland
 
Kirkwall, Mainland
Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to Empire Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing