We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and welcoming oasis”
Review of Lynnfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lynnfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A warm and welcoming oasis”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed 5 nights.
Room (Scarrataing) was spacious, but wardrobe not quite deep enough to hang clothes conveniently. Bathroom was of a very high standard - would have appreciated a magnifying shaving mirror though.
Excellent breakfasts and evening meals. However breakfast is only served from 7.30 which was too late for us on 2 occasions. Instead a breakfast tray was provided, which although good was not as good as the one in the restaurant.
We were too busy touring to fully explore the facilities in the guest lounge, which looked very interesting.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with views if your stay is for several days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkingFolkDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    47
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
130
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We regularly stay at the Lynnfield Hotel during our annual Scotland summer trip, this time unfortunately only one night, because it was fully booked. We would have loved to stay longer. Lorna & Malcolm are doing a great job!
They are the best customers of the North Ronaldsay Mutton, as we learned at a stop-over at the Island. These sheep's live at the stony coast on North Ronaldsay and eat just sea grass. A very special dish!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TropicalCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Warm welcome.Staff all friendly, if in some cases slightly inexperienced they all were keen to please. Room clean, spacious and comfortable. General decor had plenty of character even if slightly quirky. Food was good, perhaps very good. Wine list was very good. Overall very good value.Cannot imagine how any reasonable person could fail to greatly enjoy a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here mid-may. For the price it was very poor. They could do much better given the building and its position. Big room , separate sitting area, huge bathroom. Sounds good till, bath won't fill, TV doesn't work, bed is dreadful. Staff in the dining room are untrained. We had a bottle of very expensive wine poured into two glasses, except for a tiny bit he offered to decant!!!
Generally the Orkneys are awful for tourists. That this is the best in Kirkwall is scant praise.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent small hotel with warmth, comfort, fine hosts and good staff. Full marks for being able to provide an excellent meal for 16 people on a Sunday evening with minimal notice. And a whisky room with over 300 whiskies. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NialO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Located 1.5 miles from downtown with views of the harbor, west and scraps flow, this is the place to stray. Innkeeper/owner Malcolm pays close attention to detail. He has an excellent and fairly priced wine list and over 300 whiskies to sample. His wife runs the kitchen and is reputed to be one of the best cooks in Orkney. Her deserts are devastating !
For a special trip see if Malcolm can hook you up with the guide Pat Stone. She knows everything and everybody.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clematis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very comfortalbe and clean hotel, good food, very nice hosts, reasonable priced rooms good views.highly recommend this hotel.easy access and short distance from airport and ferry.good whiskey selection on offer and very good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
11.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
0.8 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynnfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynnfield Hotel

Property: Lynnfield Hotel
Address: Holm Road, St Ola | Orkney, Kirkwall KW15 1SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
#3 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#4 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lynnfield Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing