We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent self-catering property on the east...”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room - View 1 - 2 comfy leather sofas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room - View 1 - 2 comfy leather sofas
Living Room - View 2 - Cosy air-source heating throughout Living Room - View 3 - Free WiFi and Freeview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Living Room - View 1 - 2 comfy leather sofas
Living Room - View 2 - Cosy air-source heating throughout
Living Room - View 3 - Free WiFi and Freeview
Bedroom - View 1 - King size bed
Bedroom - View 2 - Spacious bedroom
Bedroom - View 3 - Plenty wardrobe space and storage
Front - tubs of seasonal flowers
Modern kitchen, includes hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and freezer
Comfortable dining in very well equipped kitchen
Welcome Tray
Original artwork by local artist throughout accommodation
Hall - light and airy
Enclosed back garden
Heated towel rail
Large walk-in shower
Always fresh flowers, great stock of books and dvd's - both of general and local interest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
greg743
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent self-catering property on the east of Kirkwall”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This ground floor semi-detached property, in the middle of a small housing estate close to the modern Kirkwall Grammar School, was extremely well equipped and came with a welcome hospitality tray of local produce as well as a selection of teas, coffees and other drinks to ensure we could settle in easily. The local guidebooks and selection of DVDs were an unexpected bonus. The property is very conveniently and quietly located for exploring Kirkwall and Orkney Mainland whether by hire car (which we had) or by public transport - there is a bus stop a few metres away outside.

We were met by Kathleen, the property owner, who showed us around and explained the facilities as well as handing over the keys. She had earlier offered to meet us at the airport if we did not have a hire car. She had also made herself available by email to answer any queries before we had arrived in Orkney, and once there and in residence, she made herself available by telephone to answer any further queries. She also provided information for an Orkney-wide local food event that was happening the next morning at the Grammar School and which we would otherwise have missed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
It was a pleasure meeting you both and thank you for such a comprehensive review. My mission is to try and make sure that everyone who stays has a good experience an so it is lovely to hear which of the little touches I've added to the accommodation are appreciated. Haste ye back...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfGlasgo...
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Spent 3 nights in this lovely accommodation, we were met by Kathleen who took time to explain things and left us complimentary goodies which was such a welcome touch. Kathleen has thought of everything and this is the most well equipped self catering property we have possibly stayed at. Many thanks Kathleen, we hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
It was an absolute delight to have you stay and your thoughtfulness in leaving the accommodation immaculate on departure was second to none. You're welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myholiday...
Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great accommodation, clean tidy with all the facilities you could want and a comfortable bed. Before we arrived we used the genealogy service which was brilliant. Kathleen was in the property to greet us and provided a welcome pack. It was an easy 10 minute downhill walk into Kirkwall. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Wonderful, considerate guests who left the accommodation immaculate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieMat...
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great base to explore Orkney from”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Within easy walking distance of Kirkwall, this house was an idea base for us and great to come home to each night. It was warm and comfortable and had everything in it we could possibly need. Kathleen gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived and supplied us with some lovely local produce which was much appreciated. Everywhere we planned to visit was easy to drive to from here and we had a fantastic week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you for such a great review. Very positive and reassuring for all our future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Ja...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location met all our needs using it as a base for visiting family. Quality of the house was very excellent and we were very happy with all the items included in the facilities

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
Many thanks, we love to hear our visitors have been so happy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Lovely considerate visitors and a pleasure to have met you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and Value!”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location for exploring Orkney! The home is very clean, modern and lovely. It is right across the street from a small shop where we bought everything we needed for a home cooked meal. It is a short 15-minute walk to Kirkwall center, with its shops, pubs and restaurants, including a great Italian restaurant run by Italians! We had a car and it was easy to navigate to/from Stromness and all the sites to see, including the World Heritage Sites of Skara Brae and the Ring of Brodgar. If you don't have a car, the bus stop is also right across the street. I really appreciated Kathleen's recommendations on dining at the Merkister, an off the beaten path and delightful place to watch the sun set. The other great amenity was the washer and dryer! After traveling around Scotland for weeks, I truly appreciated being able to clean and completely dry my clothes before we headed off to our next stop!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic!
Liked least: Absolutely no negatives about this place!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Glad that you found the Merkister, tried it out and enjoyed it as I always do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing