We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury not spared”
Review of Avalon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon House
Ranked #5 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Avalon House. The purpose built amenities were abundant and top notch. A warm welcome, a delicious breakfast (including the most amazing haggis and black pudding). Genuinely friendly hosts, who we enjoyed chatting with during our leisurely breakfast. Views of the sea out our window (Room 5).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 154 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2009

Visited Avalon House in September having read Tripadvisor and would wholeheartedly recommend this Guest House to anyone. Alistair and Jane very most welcoming. The rooms and facilities provided were second to none. A great deal of thought has obviously been put into this building and great detail paid to the needs of the guests. The breakfast is to die for with a fabulous menu choice. If back in Orkney would have no hesitation in booking again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoorayhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Avalon may be modern and lacking in the charm of an older property, but once inside everything was perfect for our stay in Orkney. The accommodation was beautifully clean, warm (almost too warm at times) and equipped with everything we needed for our 3 night stay. The room had freeview and a DVD player (small portable tv), and wifi. A bugbear of mine is how much 5 star hotels fleece customers for wifi – at Avalon it comes free! Beware, though, that I found the internet connection to be quite slow in the evening but much quicker in the morning. I also rate highly the cooked breakfasts, much of which is made using local produce. Healthier options are also available if you wish!

As a family of 4 we would have had to pay for 2 rooms at an alternative hotel, and we really just wanted a family room as our base – at Avalon this was ideal for our purposes. The room had a very comfortable double bed and an equally comfortable single. Our youngest was given a folding bed as booked. Even with the fourth bed in position, the room didn’t feel cramped (which is unusual in our experience). Our youngest (12) did find the folding bed a little uncomfortable so we ended up just using the mattress on the floor. We were offered an alternative folding bed but he was very happy with the mattress so we left it like that. There is only one family room at Avalon so you’re best to book early if you want it during the school holidays.

There are no evening meals at Avalon, but that wasn’t a problem for us. The B&B is a mile (20 minutes’ walk or very short drive) from the centre of Kirkwall where there is a reasonable choice of restaurants and bars.

In conclusion, I highly recommend this B&B for couples or families. The only slight drawback is the one mile distance to town for your evening meal (NB don’t walk across the grass by the shore – there was rather a lot of dog mess there). If you’re driving (and not drinking!) that’s not a problem, but if you want to drink or don’t have a car it isn’t a difficult walk or there seemed to be plenty of taxis by the harbour as an alternative.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWandererUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Me and my wife choose Avalon House as the winner of top ten Orkney B+Bs and we did well. There is nothing to complain about, everything was as perfect as previous visitors mentioned before. Care given by Jane and Alastair MacDonald to their guests had to be emphasized. If you choose Orkney, choose Avalon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BohemianPribram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Rooms furnished to very high standard, extremely comfortable beds, absolutely spotless. Breakfast menu has excellent choice to suit all tastes/appetites. Extremely quiet location although a good 20 mins walk to the town so best if you have a car. Hosts very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the island. Jane, we will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Orkney - you have a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotsabroad91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Excellent standard and service. Very well appointed guest accommodation. Quiet with good parking. I did find at the end of the day I did not want to walk into town to the restaurants - a wee bit far for me, but 2mins in car. Would definitely recommend and return if visiting Orkney.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinburgh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

When Jane and Alistair 'retired' from running a Kirkwall hotel they custom-designed the B&B to meet the needs of the most discerning traveller. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable, the neighbourhood is quiet and the view over the harbour is magnificent. Jane cooks large, delicious breakfasts. They know every restaurant and pub on the island so their advice is invaluable to first-time visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galianotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
328 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Address: Avalon Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range: $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Avalon House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing