We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avalon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon House
Ranked #8 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have stayed at Avalon on a few occasions and somehow the incredibly high standard there just gets better. My most recent visit was in January 2014 for two nights and the bed and breakfast was looking its usual immaculate self. The shower was superb with a very high water pressure, and I always love the view from the breakfast room which overlooks Kirkwall harbour. The place is in a quiet location about a 20-minute walk from Kirkwall.This couple have a winning formula, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
81
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The B&B rooms have been purpose built by a couple who used to run a large hotel, it shows they knew what they were doing.
The whole place is top quality, very well maintained and spotlessly clean. It felt more like a boutique-y hotel than a B&B.
Breakfast included good Scottish options and was good quality and good quantity.
As we were staying there with another couple, the only down-side was the lack of a guest lounge.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatureChaletGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for three nights at this fantastic bed and breakfast. It had the whole shebang. Jane could not have been more helpful and the fantastic breakfast bags to take away as we were on the early ferry was just amazing. I would recommend this to bed and breakfast to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BossScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived in Kirkwall on a rainy evening after a bumpy flight from Stornoway, via Inverness, and were so grateful for the warm friendly greeting from Jane and Alasdair. After we dried off, Alasdair drove us back to town with suggestions for places for a meal. Our room was spacious, spotless, bright and airy and very well-appointed. The bathroom was large with a great shower!The Avalon is a purpose built, modern B and B, right on the bay and only a 2 minute drive or a pleasant,flat 15 minute walk into town.
Jane's breakfast was wonderful - kippers, local sausage, free range eggs, nothing was too much trouble. Helpful advice and information leaflets about things to see and do in Orkney are cheerfully given. I would heartily recommend the Avalon as one of the best B and Bs in UK!

Room Tip: All rooms are large, bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place to stay in Orkney. Room was very nice - large, clean, quiet and well equipped. Great breakfast. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Their advice was key to our excellent visit to Orkney.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny-Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chose to stay here for several days while exploring Orkney - it is a perfect location if you have a car. Just a bit out of Kirkwall, it is peaceful, but close enough to go back into town for supper. The room was clean and large and bright. Jane and Alistair couldn't have been more accommodating, from wonderful breakfasts to driving us to our car rental and giving us a takeaway bag on our last morning when we had to leave early. Jane was even so kind as to wash my muddy jeans! Just a wonderful b&b!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadasnowcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent B & B with the very best top quality all round. Great attention to detail. Modern and exceptionally clean with excellent facilities.Rooms and en suites are a good size. Power shower was excellent! Food very good. Very friendly and helpful. I do not hesitate recommending this B&B! The very best I have ever stayed in and I have visited lots!
About a mile out of Kirkwall so need a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
1.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.7 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#1 of 26 in Kirkwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Property: Avalon House
Address: Avalon Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Avalon House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing