We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Avalon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon House
Ranked #6 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Wonderful hosts with great accommodations. We received a warm welcome from Jane. The room was well appointed and spacious. Breakfast was wonderful. There was lots of information available regarding the area with a daily schedule of events. We would certainly visit Jane and Alistair at Avalon again. Great B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

All positive reviews are true.

Jane and Alistair very hospitable. Top class comfort and walk along the beautiful bay memorable.
A must for stay when visiting Kirkwall

Heather & Peter Fordyce

Stayed: June 2012
2  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

From the friendly greeting by Jane to the superb bedroom to the great breakfast everything was 5* plus. Thank you so much for a great break we really hope we can visit again, this accommodation is simply one of the best anywhere. The room had everything and the bathroom so well designed with the best of showers. Jane is the most friendly and helpful host and cooks a really great breakfast. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinofHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Avalon House has everything you could possibly hope for on holiday: the accommodation is worthy of the best hotels; comfort and quality are paramount; breakfasts are to live for (and can easily keep you going til dinner!); the rooms are immaculate and have everything you need, from toiletries to DVD players; and let's not forget the hosts who are welcoming and informative - full of suggestions and advice to make your trip more enjoyable and make sure you miss nothing! We had a fantastic stay and will be back for more. Many thanks!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and have been obviously finished to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Have just returned from a short break in beautiful Orkney. This was our second visit and we didn't hesitate to book in to Avalon House. Travelling with my mum, she has some mobility problems, but Avalon House is perfect; all on the level, wide doors, spacious rooms and comfortable beds. We were greeted by Jane on our arrival and it was like coming home! Spectacular breakfasts - every detail thought of (and remembered, so never had to ask twice).
The rooms are warm, clean and fresh and have everything you could think of (and some stuff you couldn't!) Avalon is really handy for Kirkwall (and every where else on Orkney) and has been the perfect base for us on two separate holidays- surely the best recommendation is to return! We will be back! Thank you Jane and Alastair, you made our holiday!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and found everything you could ever wish for - great bedroom, yummy breakfast, fantastic shower and jane was very friendly and helpful with local knowledge, we would definately return - thanks jane for a wonderful break

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I enjoyed the 4 star comforts and superb hospitality of Jane and Alistair in mid-April during an extended motor trip through Scotland. My only regret is that I did not plan for more time here. This is a brand new "purpose built" guest house in a lovely, quiet residential area, steps from the sea. Everything about Avalon House is truly first class.

And then there are the hosts. Jane and Alistair were perfect: super-helpful in every way, obtrusive in no way. You have it all here: peace, quiet, privacy, creature comforts galore, a fine breakfast, and, should you request it, all the assistance you might want.

I cannot recommend Avalon House too highly.

Room Tip: All are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locke69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
1.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
1.7 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
251 reviews
1 mi away
The Shore
The Shore
#10 of 26 in Kirkwall
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
2 mi away
Highland Park House
Highland Park House
#12 of 26 in Kirkwall
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Address: Avalon Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range: $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Avalon House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing